Help with High Beam wire for wiring Hella Lights.

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by PKP80, Nov 1, 2005.

  1. PKP80

    PKP80

    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    119
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My meter seems to be broken, so having trouble finding the high beam wire/lead to tap into for my setup. No luck with a search or in the FSM. Is it the red/yellow, or red/blue wire going into the headlamp?

    Also have any of you drawn the high beam lead from the dash instead of at the headlight? where and how?

    Lastly, would it be Okay to wire all six light leads to one location and tap into the high beam?

    I know a slee harness would be best, but I don't have one, eventually will.

    Thanks in advance.

    Sam
     
  2. Beowulf

    Beowulf

    Messages:
    12,529
    Likes Received:
    58
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere in the foothills...
    Sam,
    That is a lot of current for the stock wiring harness. Does the Hella have a relay based harness? If yes, then you can trigger the relay using the high beam circuit. If your Hella lights don't have a harness then you need to reconsider tapping 6 lights into the stock wiring as this could create a dangerous overload.

    -B-
     
  3. Tuner

    Tuner

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    The Hellas I have came with a HD relay. I tried the same thing on my 96. According to my meter, both hi beam wires are hot when the low beams are on. When the hi beams go on, the red/blue stays hot and the other becomes a ground.

    Unless you use the red/yellow as a ground for your relay (just a thought, not tried, not traced out and possibly dangerous), I'm not sure how to tie the relay to the hi beams. I'm using the relay and a dash switch.

    Stock wiring will not support hi beams plus 6 Hellas for long...if at all.
     
  4. Biff

    Biff

    Messages:
    1,904
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Sam,

    Why not connect the hellas directly to a power source. I have my IPF's connected directly to my battery and whenever I need them I just hit the switch.
     
  5. PKP80

    PKP80

    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    119
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Sorry to leave info out....the lights:

    All six come with Hella RElays

    So 1 relay to each pair.

    I wouldn't mind not having to go to the high beam line if I don't need to, but the instructions state that I need tap into the high beam lead.

    Light are pretty much out of the box.

    Sam
     
  6. Biff

    Biff

    Messages:
    1,904
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles

    Well if you want to go based on the instructions thats another story. :D
     
  7. PKP80

    PKP80

    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    119
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I'm not a light guy in anyway....you saying that the high beam lead is not required to run the lights? then its purpose, sir Biff

    I'd ditch that wire if it's not needed.
     
  8. CreeperSleeper

    CreeperSleeper SILVER Star

    Messages:
    6,717
    Likes Received:
    583
    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Location:
    Forest Grove, OR
    You will still need to hook the wire up, you just don't need to hook it up where it says you do in the instructions. Just hook it up to a switch on your dash.
     
  9. PKP80

    PKP80

    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    119
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA

    would the cig. lighter work?
     
  10. Biff

    Biff

    Messages:
    1,904
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles

    That would work. The dimmer switch is also a good place.
     
  11. Arya Ebrahimi

    Arya Ebrahimi

    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    107
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Location:
    Rockville, MD
    If you want to be able to leave them on w/ the truck off, then you want to run that wire to an unswitched(meaning not switched by the ignition, you will want a switch to turn them on and off) constant "hot." You could do this by running a wire from the battery, to a fuse, to the switch, to the wire in question. Then the lights will be completely under your control, ignition on or off, headlights on or off. If you want them to cut off w/ the truck, then wire the relay trip wire(the wire you're talking about) into a switched source(such as the cig-lighter). Basically, when the wire in question gets power, the lights will be able to function. If it doesn't have power, they will not be able to function.

    That clear as mud? :D
     
  12. skyshark186

    skyshark186

    Messages:
    1,140
    Media:
    6
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Location:
    North Platte, Middle of nowhere
    Or you could tap em into the low beams and split your current even when they are off. Works great at making both much dimmer. :rolleyes:

    Running straight to power/straight to switch is much more effective.
     
  13. dclee

    dclee

    Messages:
    2,359
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Location:
    Left Coast, USA

    AFAIK this is more of a legal requirement in most localities than anything else. If you switch the lights on their own independant circuit (as I currently do) then legally you would need to keep the lamps covered when on a public road. There may be more to this depending on your local motor vehicle code (e.g. even if covered, the lamps still have to be switched off the highbeam circuit). However, I am converting mine to run on the high beam circuit as recommended. They will come on anytime the highbeams do. This has several advantages to me (where I live):

    1.) Allows me to legally run my lamps uncovered at all times.

    2.) Frees up my OEM foglamp switch to actually use for foglamps (planning both front and rear fogs).

    3.) When people insist on driving with their highbeams on, I can now send them a quite powerful message when I flash them! :flipoff2:
     
  14. dclee

    dclee

    Messages:
    2,359
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Location:
    Left Coast, USA
    Also, do not use the OEM harness for anything more than the switching signal. Always get your power right from the battery and run it through a good relay (I like Bosch). An inline fuse wouldn't hurt either.
     
  15. PKP80

    PKP80

    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    119
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Thank you for all the help, I believe I get it and will let you know what becomes of all this info that's been attained.

    Sam
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.