Help, can you guys tell me what series this truck is? (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads

I'm brand new to 4x4's etc. Up until recently I was a legal secretary who drove a nice little girly Jetta. But I'm up north now and desperately need a solid, reliable 4x4 with cargo room for dogs. I live in Fort St. John - an extremely far north and cold town. I'm looking for some help identifying this truck's series - I'm not having much luck with google. I'm also interested in hearing anybodys advice on whether or not this is a good truck for a northern climate. It's got 72,000 km and is the turbo-diesel version, RHD - it's a 1991 - any info you can offer would be much appreciated!
Thanks all, Mary

That looks like an LJ78 Prado and it is NOT a good choice. If you want a reliable vehicle, this is NOT it.

The engines that these vehicles were supplied with are a total disaster. They suffer from numerous serious problems that are all hard to diagnose and expensive to fix.

DO NOT buy any Toyota that has the 2LTE engine.

If you want to own a Land Cruiser, you can get a 60 series, 70 series, or 80 series for only a bit more money and it will be 100X better in every way imaginable.

Outback Imports (a Yukon company) has some very, very good deals on right now. Check out their website for info.

~John

This truck would only cost me $4000 - is it a complete waste of money? I'm trying to find something that is 4x4 with low kms and this seemed to fit the bill - the next truck (Land Cruiser) in price is $16,900 - and that gets wayyyy outta my price range. Does anyone think I'll get any use of out of this truck or is it completely value-less - I doubt I would ever use it hard-core off roading. I just need something to handle the giant pot holes and icy conditions. thanks - I appreciate the advice