Hello I’m a newbie 97 FZJ80 Florida (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I recently acquired a green 97 40th with a 4” lift and 35’s from a friend of mine who owned it for approx 6 years prior to that it has been tossed around shoot who knows maybe a prior member of this board owned it. Anyway it’s a piece of s*** and like any piece of s***s we dump our hard earned money into it expecting that you could off it to someone for a profit that never happens.

For me it was no profit mainly a financial loss. Intentions was to give it to my son in Ohio once I was done with the mechanical repairs that were/are required. The exwife doesn’t want a heap in the driveway. So now I’m knee deep in it. So far I’ve done a few tiny things to it.

Acquired vehicle: Mid February 2023
Replaced:
- Seat gears
- Power door actuators
- Antenna mast
- Front brakes
- Front Rotors
- Front hubs
- Front axles
- Front seals / axle seals
- Rear axle bearings/Seals
- Warn 9k

I will be replacing:
- Springs
- Shocks
- Diff gears 4.88’s
- T-case gears
- Brake hoses

I want to step down to a 3” lift rather than the 4” that’s on there. I figure 3” would work nicely since the current springs are crap anyway and sagging on one side. I have also welded patch panels on to the vehicle which I purchased locally. Remove those hideous flares and install the factory ones and convert the single carrier to a dual carrier to hold water and or fuel. I also want to modify the bumper so I can attach a basket to haul game. Also remove the sunroof and weld the sunroof hole shut. Eventually I would like to LS swap it and get it painted. Then drive it everywhere so I don’t need to drive my Super Duty everywhere.

I’m not a professional mechanic but I’ve worked on stuff as a kid and was an aircraft mechanic for a few years then after I retired I worked on lights and signs trucks for a few years.