Head Gasket done - no start (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

musthave

Doc says I'm 1 in 120K. Lucky?
Supporting Vendor
Threads
The dreaded no start after head gasket is done. 1 dot lined up in center on install. Here is a picture of the distributor alignment.

After no start, inserted a dowel and verified that at TDC (0) that cylinder is up fully. So, I don't think it's a distributor this time.

What I do notice is that everyone says the rotor points to 1, but it really looks like it points to 5 to me.

Fusible links are good grounds are good, starter is good, alternator is good, has a new Fuel Pump Relay, and new EFI relay. I get a good solid crank, but no start.

It's raining so I can't do much more today.

distri.jpg

I'm no expert on this but it looks to me as if the tip of the rotor is off (if you are at the fully seated position).

Did you watch Otraam's video?

It's got to be off. Easy enough to change, hopefully that's it.

You are off one tooth.

You need to rotate the rotor as you are installing it. It is a helical cut gear. It need to point to the edge of the plug on the dist.

Also you said you put a dowel down the spark plug hole and the piston was at the top. You could also be on the exhaust stroke.

It should still burp and fart if you were off one tooth, I think you are out 180.

Have you got spark?

The harmonic balancer will tell you when the piston is at TDC.

What it doesn't tell you is if it is on the COMPRESSION stroke.

That needs to be determined by placing a paper towel in the spark plug hole when you rotate the engine (in the correct direction) it will poof out the towel when the piston is coming up on the compression stroke. That means both intake and exhaust valves are closed and it is time to fire the plug.

Odds are that you are 180 out. Being off a tooth , it usually tries to catch but it splutters and never quite runs.