Have these springs had their day? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Here are a couple of pics of the springs on my new 60. First the rear ones.. The truck has towed a caravan for a many years and is noticeably lower at the rear end. It rides OK but makes a doink kind of sound when going over any ruts. On bouncy ground it makes no noise ??? Interested in any opinions - do the springs look a bit flat to you? Could the doink be coming from the springs or the shocks?

Cheers, Jim :beer:

heck they look pretty worn to me. Im not a cruiser expert but if in doubt just replace it and not worry about it! besides if you are still towing much of the time go with a heavier shock/leaf spring setup......

looks like the fronts have an add-a-leaf..........added

yeah man,

those nice flat springs are perfect for an SOA (spring over axle). big suspension lift deal where your springs are placed above your axle (rather than under, as it is now).
probably a little extreme for your situation though.

i would bet that the "boink" is your bumpstops hittin under quick articulation like hitting a rut. no big deal, but it would be nicer not to have it, right?

i'm no 60 guy, but i'm sure some guys on here can tell you what to do. i would figure replace the springs if you got the cash, but if not, no big deal.

have a good one, and good luck,
malphrus

Heh heh, actually, the springs in my 60 look almost that bad--they work fine for me, I get no boink (at least not while I'm driving ;) ), but then again I don't tow. Me? I'd like new springs. But I don't have them yet 'cause I'm cheap.

If you weren't towing, you probably could go thousands of miles more, but since you're towing, maybe replace with some HD springs?

welcome back Jim, hows the ride compared to the Patrool?

look like the springs might be flat, tyres look a bit worn. nice looking ride though.