Hard Top Metal Visor Trim Piece Question (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Green Bean

GOLD Star
Threads
I'm new to the FJ community. Our 1970 FJ40 came with the hard top and panels off of the vehicle. I have pieced everything together (without weather-stripping) to check for fitment before sending off to paint. However, I have a question about the metal trim piece that appears to go on the front of the hard top. Mine appears at one time to have been riveted to the fiberglass top, but came unattached. I sure would appreciate some help figuring out how this is supposed to attach to the hard top and how it then attaches to the top of the window frame. I have ordered the FSM but have not received it yet.

Thank you to this great forum for all of the help thus far.

Hard Top Visor Rivet.jpg

Hard Top Visor.1.jpg

Hard Top Visor.2.jpg

It was riveted to the fiberglass. It bolts to the windshield.
Thanks. I know that this is probably a really dumb question, but how does one go about accessing the bolts, from the inside or the outside? ( I have just the hardtop loosely attached to the vehicle temporarily before it goes off for paint, I plan to have the visor riveted back to the hardtop)

Lip goes on the outside of the windshield frame.

I would be sure it matches your windshield. Was two or four bolt. Wipers on two two different styles and one the wipers were on the bottom of the windshield. Also later ones had a windshield washer nozzle in the top of the windshield that these piece is notched for. Personally which a lot of extra work would assemble the top on the cruiser and be sure it all lines up before riveting this piece to the canvas.

Last edited:
I’d second what LITP said about doing the rivets on the truck. The ones on my 72 are not actual rivets but bolts that allowed us a little more adjustment(which was needed).

View attachment 2681598