HAM NEWBIE (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1973Guppie

Supporting Vendor
Threads
Website
www.noahsarkstlc.com
Hi Folks,

have some questions for everyone. I am interested in moving to a ham radio but am a complete newbie in this arena. I have always just had a cb in my 4x4 vehicles for trail runs to speak with the other drivers in our group. That is all I have really needed in the past.

That being said, I realize that CB is very quickly becoming obsolete in that most drivers have switched to ham. So, I would like to do the same. I really only plan to use the radio when on the trail to speak with other drivers, etc and in emergency situations. Probably it will be used maybe a few times a year. I see no use for it on the road as I have cell for that. Right now I am using a handheld semi mounted device, basically I just plug it in when off road and remove it when not needed. Link here: Midland 75-822

Questions:

? - For my use is getting a ham license really necessary? I know, I know, technically illegal but so is jay walking. I just don't see an FCC cop arresting me on a mountain top for using my ham to communicate with the people I am with.

? - Is there a radio that anyone would reccomend that uses cb and ham in one unit? It will also need to be removable same as my existing radio.

? - I am guessing I can use a simple antenna mounted / clamped to my roof rack. I believe I should have a ground plane of some sort but I do have a hard shell RTT that takes up most of my rack.

? - any good tutorials for learning the very basics of operating a ham based on my planned usage above?

Thanks,

Noah

Noah,