Greetings from sunny WA state! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I picked up a very stock 1980 40 series a couple of months ago with 49K original miles. I wanted to give it some extra clearance, and rebuild the front knuckles (leaking). I have been getting some help from Torfab and from Cruiser Outfitters, which is great. I have some experience, having run my own race car for a while (sold it to buy the 40!). I've got the EMU lift kit installed, with flipped U bolts. Rebuilt front and rear brakes. Rebuilt the locking hubs. I replaced the studs in the front knuckles and will be running 33x10.5 tires on the new 16" Al wheels from FJCo. (should arrive next week!).

I have a question for the forum: On the first knuckle going back together, I set the knuckle bearing preload to 15 lbs. But after installing the heavy duty wiper seal, it doubled the preload to 30 lbs. What is the "all-up installed" preload I should be going for? 30 sure seems tight to me, and from my forum scanning, it sounds like I could expect a bit more once the axle nuts are torqued. Any suggestions appreciated!

Welcome to Mud. I don’t have the answer to your question but I’m sure someone will chime in. Sounds like a nice rig, lets see some pics!

20210718_162543[1].jpg

Thanks Mark! I'm in North Bend, so bit of a fur piece for ya. I ended up adding back 0.5 worth of shim to get it back to stk load... came out about 9 lbs (without the ball wiper seal). With the ball wiper, it's still high... near 20 lbs, but I figure once that seal is broken in, it will loosen up. Any further suggestions? I have that knuckle (passenger side) fully re-assembled now, and will work on the driver side tomorrow. Any suggestions welcome!