Greetings from newby. 2001 overheating. Would appreciate some info, I'm at my wits end! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Howdie fellow enthusiasts. My first post and hoping for some info. My 2001 with over 302K miles, meticulously maintained by me (I've been wrenching on my cars since 1979, always oem parts, best practice method etc.,) suddenly overheated when my wife was driving it. I mean full red on-the-dial overheat with steam volcano etc. happened couple blocks away from home so waited til it cooled down and then refilled radiator and drove home uneventfully.
Over the past 10 days I performed the following:
1. new radiator
2. new radiator cap
3. new water pump
4. new thermostat with gasket
5. new timing belt/ rollers/tensioners
6. new coolant

Car still overheats! Its real overheating, not a dial/gauge problem as there's hot coolant puking through the rad cap and into the plastic overflow tank. Head gaskets seem ok (No water in the oil, No oil in the coolant).

Observations: after careful refill of coolant and burping, the temp climbs suddenly after driving about 4 blocks. temp remains high and close to the red zone, but I'm able to get it home before getting in the red zone. The Top inlet rad hose is now hell of hot. The overflow tank is nearly full with evidence of splashed coolant around radiator. Lower rad hose is relatively luke warm. Seems there's a blockage......