Gonna need a new set of pistons...but where do I look? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
My '85 FJ60 2F engine needs a new set. The mechanic has given me two choices.... (1) remove/replace cylinder sleeves and revert to standard bore. Or (2) overbore existing sleeves to .040. Either way I'm going to need new pistons. I want to do some checking on my own but when I do the usual google "FJ60 2F engine new pistons" type of search I just see pistons in general, nothing that specifically states "for a 2F engine". Can anyone lead me in the right direction? And how will I know that the pistons I am looking at on a particular web page are designed for this particular motor?
Thanks for your input....I'm not a mechanic, so be gentle!

I had to have my block overbored. I went w/ ITM from Rockauto, they come w/ rings. They’re pretty...
I’m sorry, your cylinders have sleeves in them or you mean the existing bore?

B505ADEA-51C2-432C-96D5-C260E9C870A5.jpeg

Last edited:
Engine was overhauled many moons ago....so I'm not sure why sleeves where installed. Alls I know is that they are there. Perhaps there was some damage to the cylinders themselves so sleeves had to be installed way back when? Current bore is .020 over. I am on a leaning curve here so today I will ask the shop about this. Thanks for the reference from RockAuto. Now I want to get the bottom of this sleeve thing!

where are you located? Getting a used engine might be a better option.

High in the central mountains of Costa Rica. BJ40 country...but lots of gas 2F's around also. All this shop does is rebuild and restore older Land Cruisers so I feel I´m in good hands....but I´m going to press them a little further on this....maybe there is a pristine 2F block laying around............