Glow Plug light on KZJ78? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

FJ40 that green thing

1996 KZJ78 Prado
Threads
I did a search but not getting a clear answer. I have a 1996 KZJ78 Prado with the 1KZ-TE engine, all stock as far as I can tell. Shouldn't there be a glow plug light on my dash that indicates the glow plugs are working when I turn the key to "on"? I know they are working because she starts great even at -5 this morning. I have just been turning the key on and waiting 10 seconds before starting and haven't had the slightest problem with it starting. Perhaps the bulb is burnt out on the dash or I just don't know what I'm looking for. Usually its a coiled up wire or something that lights up but since Im new to the 70 series, I just am not sure how Toyota does it. Anyone have a pic of your dash with glow plug indicator on to steer me in the right direction?

Thanks,

The glow plug light is right beside the H4 and Hub Lock buttons to the lower right of the gauge cluster. There should be two lights there, the upper one is a filter indicator and the lower is the glow plug light.

Is the glow plug light supposed to illuminate when the glow plugs are "hot"? Or it is more like an idiot light and it illuminates when it senses a problem?

ok, my filter light pops up with the key on but im not getting the glow plug light, I'll check the bulb. Thanks!!

Let me know what you find. I also have a '96 and the glow plug light does not illuminate. I just assumed that was normal. I live in Phoenix, so the lowest temperature I've seen since I picked up the car in November is maybe 40-45F, so no big deal so far.

I *think* it should briefly illuminate when you turn the ignition on, but I don't think the glow plugs turn on until the temperature drops below 0ºC or 32ºF.

My glow plug indicator has never lit either.