Fuel Delivery Issues (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am still very new to working on cars, so Posing a question to the group… I have replaced the fuel pump, fuel line, gas tank and carburetor on my 71 40. Weber carb, OEM fuel pump and gas tank. Running all soft fuel lines current, it they are new. I can prime the carb and fuel pressure is 6lbs. I can drive for a mile or so without any issues but then the engine loses fuel. I am waiting on a new gas cap, but have a temporary one(plastic bag and rubber band) on it now. Any suggestions to look into would be greatly appreciated.

Have you replaced the fuel filter? They can get clogged and mimic fuel starvation symptoms.

Have you replaced the fuel filter? They can get clogged and mimic fuel starvation symptoms.
I replaced it prior to replacing the fuel pump; I can get another one tomorrow and try that out. Would that cause there to not be any fuel visible in the filter? I replaced the fuel filter with a clear one.

When you say prime the carb do you mean by cranking the engine, or physically filling the fuel bowl in the carb with fuel? Or dumping fuel into the top of the carb?
Are you sure the new fuel pump works in other words?

When you say prime the carb do you mean by cranking the engine, or physically filling the fuel bowl in the carb with fuel? Or dumping fuel into the top of the carb?
Are you sure the new fuel pump works in other words?
I’m priming the carb by removing the fuel line coming from the fuel pump, pouring a small amount of fuel in the primary side of the carb and cranking the engine. It takes about 10 seconds for a 16oz water battle to fill with fuel at that point.

I would replace it just to be sure. Debris from your new tank could have caused it to clog.