1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fual guage is now INOP after removing wires from sender.?

Discussion in '40- & 55-Series Tech' started by AATLAS1X, Aug 27, 2006.

  1. AATLAS1X

    AATLAS1X

    Messages:
    7,263
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Location:
    97707
    Fuel guage is now INOP after removing wires from sender.?

    I was doing the big wash in my 40 today and after putting back the cover to tha gas tank I drove it into the garage and now the fuel guage is INOP......I unscrewed the ground and pull the wire from the sending unit. did I ground it by mistake and blow something??

    I checked all fuses and all are good. I have a pulse at the sending unit with a test light.

    What did I do or miss???
    PICT0877.JPG
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2006
  2. Poser

    Poser Oh...Durka Durka Durka. s-Moderator Supporting Vendor

    Messages:
    20,262
    Media:
    17
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    547
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    MN
    Check the connectors at the sender.... it is likely a ground issue.
     
  3. AATLAS1X

    AATLAS1X

    Messages:
    7,263
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Location:
    97707
    I did, and I moved the ground to another screw.
     
  4. AATLAS1X

    AATLAS1X

    Messages:
    7,263
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Location:
    97707
    How is the tank grounded? Or is it?
     
  5. honk

    honk

    Messages:
    3,415
    Media:
    10
    Likes Received:
    365
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Location:
    PNW
    Ground the sender using a jumper cable from the sender bod to a known good ground. If the gauge does not swing with your new temporry ground then trace the OEM ground wire to be sure you didn't disconnect, break, or soak it.

    As far as the gauge work it doesn't matter about the tank being grounded, and it normally isn't. If it was there'd be no reason for a seperate ground for the sender.



    ed:sp
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2006
  6. Doug_S

    Doug_S

    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    Use the factory service manual's way of testing the gauage or you might blow it entirely like I did on my oil pressure gauge.
     
  7. camcruiser13

    camcruiser13

    Messages:
    6,979
    Media:
    3
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    sittin on the couch in UT
    did you connect the wires back up?
     
  8. AATLAS1X

    AATLAS1X

    Messages:
    7,263
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Location:
    97707
    Did you see picture?:D
     
  9. fjwagon

    fjwagon

    Messages:
    1,795
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    I take it......the fuel gauge is marking empty.....?
     
  10. AATLAS1X

    AATLAS1X

    Messages:
    7,263
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Location:
    97707
    Yes it is reading empty.................................
     
  11. cruiser88

    cruiser88

    Messages:
    11,874
    Media:
    3
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Location:
    Medford Oregon
    i had the same problem like it was spoken above it was a ground issue.i redid the ground and made a fusible link because somewhere along the way i blow my s***.just a liitle extra protection:eek:
     
  12. AATLAS1X

    AATLAS1X

    Messages:
    7,263
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Location:
    97707
    that went a weak ago...........I have 20 feet on it in the past week and never had these issues with a 40....
     
  13. AATLAS1X

    AATLAS1X

    Messages:
    7,263
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Location:
    97707
    ...............

    what do you mean soak it?? I scrubbed the whole inside with hot soapy water from top to bottom..............
     
  14. AATLAS1X

    AATLAS1X

    Messages:
    7,263
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Location:
    97707
    Real time in the garage 12 midnight

    Ok, I took a test light to the clip on wire to the sender, it pulses and the guage deflects slowly 5-7 seconds. I ran a ground hard line to every place I could find from the ground on the sensor.

    I crawl under and find the plug, check it and all looks good. i move over to the ground at the frame (see pic) and I find a SOLID BLACK wire that looks OE, But I have never seen a sold black wire that was??? anyway, the yellow tape is still around harness and black wire comes out (see pic) i hit the black wire with a test light and I get a click......I hook up a extension and locate the click. Its coming from the black emission box (see pic) WTF??

    Still no gas guage, still no oil pressure guage and now this. all worked a week ago....
    PICT0896.JPG PICT0888.JPG PICT0892.JPG
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2006
  15. AATLAS1X

    AATLAS1X

    Messages:
    7,263
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Location:
    97707
    hummm
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2006
  16. AATLAS1X

    AATLAS1X

    Messages:
    7,263
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Location:
    97707
    Black wire? anyone?
     
  17. baldboy

    baldboy

    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    I had the exact same thing happen about a month ago. Same emission box clicking, fuel guage died for no reason, same everything.....

    Fuses looked good, changed grounds, still no go..... (oh btw, the horn went out at the exact same time so I figured ground is bad somewhere...nope)

    I know this might sound elementary but it turned out to be a fuse that looked new and was bad.

    As for the black wire, I would ignore it if you never touched it before and the fuel guage worked before.



    Long story long, try changing all of the related fuses (fuse).

    I know I know, it sounds stupid but it worked for me.

    Good luck and sorry I didn't have a more enlightened solution.
     
  18. stumpy

    stumpy

    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    The Intarwebs
    have you run a ground wire directly to the battery? sometimes that helps me when i am fiddling with a ground problem. rub the ground wire ring that screws into the sender with a piece of sandpaper. that usually solves it for me.

    HTH
     
  19. AATLAS1X

    AATLAS1X

    Messages:
    7,263
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Location:
    97707
    Ran a ground wire from sender to --- side of battery.,............Nothing.

    that black wire in the pics, well my 79 frame has is connect to the white and black wire at the ground on the frame.....????????????????
     
  20. mooker82

    mooker82

    Messages:
    1,696
    Likes Received:
    22
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    Not sure if theres one on a cruiser but on my early bronco i had the same problem There is a small voltage resistor that cuts the current from 12 volts to 6 or something that is located on the back of the gauge panel.
     
data-matched-content-rows-num="2,1" data-matched-content-columns-num="1,4" data-matched-content-ui-type="image_stacked" data-ad-format="autorelaxed">