front shock recommendation (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I recently started to hear a bit of squeak and thought it's probably time to replace the front KYB shocks that's about 8 years old. The rear set up is OME 2860 springs with the Nitrocharger shocks. I forgot the model number, should I just get the same pair for the front? My 100 is a daily driver with occasional off the beaten path, so mainly looking for reliability and comfort.

OME Nitrocharger front shocks?
Reliability = Yes.
Comfort = No.

I’ve never run the Fox 2.0, but for the 100 series, I have read reviews of “comfortable” and “cushy” on mostly stock “lightweight” vehicles, to “underdamped” and “too soft” on heavier vehicles.

I have no experience with the Dobinsons (yellow) twin tubes, but I am a fan of the Dobinsons IMS monotube shocks. I am running them on stock-ish relative lightweight vehicles.

i really wish the bilstein 5160's were not 3-6 months lead time. i have liked the bilsteins i have put on my 40 and 80. i should have pulled the plug 18 months ago. what is equivalent that are in stock now? fox? dobinson? i could be convinced to pay about 250$ per corner. i have a fully laden and lifted rig. current nitros are total garbage.

Last edited:
OME Nitrocharger front shocks?
Reliability = Yes.
Comfort = No.
Very true. I had on my 100 for about 11 days and ran to Koni Rally Raids. Too bad they are pretty much not available in US these days :(
I have no experience with the Dobinsons (yellow) twin tubes, but I am a fan of the Dobinsons IMS monotube shocks. I am running them on stock-ish relative lightweight vehicles.
Please share your experience with the IMS so far, they are a great spec/price point, similar to the Koni Heavy Track market segment. TIA

Very true. I had on my 100 for about 11 days and ran to Koni Rally Raids. Too bad they are pretty much not available in US these days :(