Friday night out with my PHH (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So Ive been mostly enjoying my 80 since i purchased it in Aug 2017. Ive done basically the bare minimum in terms of maintenance, put on a lift, tires, rack, about to put on a bumper (will not go on frame, looks like ARB welded one tube way too small) but i digress.

figured it was as good as time as any to do the PHH. I replaced the valve cover, most heater hoses and did a rear bypass (my rear lines were like something from a swamp tree's roots) last weekend so I thought I was a master mechanic afterward, (am not at all).

I bought both a silicone and gates green stripe kit thinking one would be the backup, and after reading that the silicone will weep eventually, i went with the Green stripe.

First off, i researched this for a week non stop and probably read every thread related to the PHH.

Anyway, it appears the PHH was replaced at some point in the past and the hose actually looked pretty decent on the inside. I cleaned up the metal tube and chose to keep it; I do not like the idea of running a section of hose near that EGR pipe. Plus, toyota designed it this way for a reason, its not like they knew running a heater hose would be optimal and this metal pipe was the compromise.

Things I figured out (or more like agreed with previous statements on Mud):

1. tran dipstick unbolt. Check.
2. knock sensor unclip. I could not get a feeling i was NOT going to break the connector so i left it alone and was careful.
3. Dremel old clamps. Easy, quick.
4. Right angle needle nose. Pull off old clamps in 2 seconds after cutting.
5. Utility knife the old hose and right angle needle nose, yank it out.
5.5 Undo the wiring harness two bolts so its not rigid and can be moved when you do the next step.