FLy fishing opinions needed

Discussion in 'Chit-Chat' started by dd113, Aug 5, 2005.

1. dd113

dd113

To say I am a newb at fly fishing would be very true. I am bascially a flytard but I am getting hooked on it.

Here is my delimma:
    I hope to fish on smaller mountain streams and was thinking about getting a 7' 4-5wt rod.

I also will be fishing a bunch on the 'hooch. A larger river very close to the house. There I am thinking a 9' 4-5 or 5-6wt.

Eventually I can afford both rods as I plan to get mid range set ups ($300-$400 rod/reel combo) but for now I was going to buy the short set up until and hit the mountains.

Of course the other option is to get 8' or 8'6" 4-5wt and use it in both areas but the guy teaching me (or putting up with me) thinks that rod wont do well in either situation and I am better off getting both rods for both areas.

Should I go for the dual use single rod or pony up and buy both.

2. tltaylor22

tltaylor22

I've got a 8' 5-6wt that I use as my all around rod. It's a little heavy and a little long for the smallest tree covered streams, but it's doable. I even hooked up some 15lb sockeye with it in Western alaska a few weeks ago.

Trent

3. skyshark186

skyshark186

Media:
    I have an 8' 6wt rod. Your instructor thinks much differently than mine. Mines a s***ter too.

Keep in mind, the length of the rod has directly to do with two things. What your throwing, and how far. If you only need to cast 20 feet or so, that short of a rod may be fine. But if you get anything heavy and try to throw it farther, your gonna have to be a master. Conversely with the long rod(not always true) your going to be able to get more of a load for long range, but some find them less accurate for short work.

I fished small and medium large/large rivers with mine. Did fine in both. I find its easier to move my body to suit the cast, than to rely on the rod.

Not to mention 800 bones is a lot to sink into something your just starting out at.