FJ80: what to expect (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi everyone,

I am new to the LC world. I have a 4Runner off road which gave me a love for Toyota, but now all I want is a land cruiser to work on as a bonus car.

I want an FJ80. I have only test driven one, and it wasn’t promising. Bad braking, accelerator could hardly be pushed down, interior was horrible. It was listed for $9000.

Can y’all tell me what I should be expecting an FJ80 to run like? I know it isn’t going to be “smooth,” but I also don’t want to buy an FJ80 without knowing how it should feel.

Hi everyone,

I am new to the LC world. I have a 4Runner off road which gave me a love for Toyota, but now all I want is a land cruiser to work on as a bonus car.

I want an FJ80. I have only test driven one, and it wasn’t promising. Bad braking, accelerator could hardly be pushed down, interior was horrible. It was listed for $9000.

Can y’all tell me what I should be expecting an FJ80 to run like? I know it isn’t going to be “smooth,” but I also don’t want to buy an FJ80 without knowing how it should feel.
First, there are FJ80's and FZJ80's.
1991-1992 are FJ80. 3FE Engine. Slow, Gutless, reliable as hell.
1993-1997 are FZJ80. 1FZ-FE Engine. Slightly more HP, slow, gutless, have a once per life head gasket issues.

All will take you anywhere you want to go, slowly.
These are not cheap old trucks.

That's too much for whatever version you're looking at unless it's under 100K miles.

Read a lot on here.
Don't take it personally.
Put on your big girl panties.
Throw your wallet at it.
Read a lot on here.
Don't ask stupid questions other than "What oil are you using?" and "What tires will fit on my truck?"

Also remember that you're probably going to be searching within a 250 mile radius to find something that's a good value.

Prices vary wildly depending on the location.