FJ62 Hub Sockey question (1 Viewer)

Joined
Dec 18, 2004
Messages
319
Location
Maple Grove MN
 
OK..

Priming for my axle rebuild and setting up for it.

I have a borrow hub socket.

It is 2" 3/32.

The standard is 54mm or 2 1/8 from what I have heard.

Has anybody used what I have?

Can I use it?
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2004
Messages
319
Location
Maple Grove MN
 
I mean the hub socket size.

I have a 2" 3/32

All the procdecures call for a 54mm size or a 2" 1/8.

But then.. a BFH sounds good to me.
 

thorvald

.......
Joined
Aug 18, 2002
Messages
1,567
Location
on the ice, wyoming
 
 
 
 
if you don't know if it will work, and no one else does, I'd bite the bullet and buy one. either find a snap-on dealer, sears, etc.
after looking all over town for one so I could fix the rotors on my 80, I ordered one from Slee, it's a blue-point from snap-on if I remember correctly.

same thing with brass hammer, the snap ring pliers, etc.
I got the snap ring off the birfield with no problem with the wrong pliers but couldn't get it back on, went and got a set of the pliers with flat sides and it took about one minute to get them both back on. :beer:

oh, and half the time that I spent on them was spent driving around trying to find tools and parts. I couldn't find a brass hammer even :eek: had to meet the snap-on dealer.
 
Last edited:

sandcruiser

....back in the saddle again....
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
3,575
Location
Truckee, CA
 
 
 
just make sure that whatever socket you buy, it has the actual socket-drive. I got one from SOR that has the right size socket, but it doesn't have a 1/2" drive on the end, instead it has a hole in the side to poke a screwdriver through. Still, it works better than the chisel, but not very usefull for attaching to a torque wrench :(
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
11,194
Location
Wherever the truck stops!!
 
 
sandcruiser said:
just make sure that whatever socket you buy, it has the actual socket-drive. I got one from SOR that has the right size socket, but it doesn't have a 1/2" drive on the end, instead it has a hole in the side to poke a screwdriver through. Still, it works better than the chisel, but not very usefull for attaching to a torque wrench :(
Steve, I'm sure someone down in Costa Rica can cut a 1/2" square into it for a dollar or two!
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
1,852
Location
Houston, the lower bowel of TX
 
 
 
2 3/32" socket is the right size. I have one from Matco, fits perfect...and several other Cruisers have used it. It also has the 3/4 to 1/2 adapter....use a proper torque wrench and follow the FSM preload directions.

Put the BFH & chisel down, sir...now slooowly, with your hands up, step awaaay from the BFH! :D
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom