FJ60 Owner Seeking Help (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have a 85 FJ60 located in VT that is in need of a little (or a lot) TLC. The Land Cruiser has spent the it’s life in New England / Vermont which means it has a little rust underneath. The frame needs to be swapped and after getting under the LC a little more, it needs what I think are new rocker panels and underside panels (along with rear fender well repair). Pictures below.

The good is that the interior is pretty mint for its age and the majority of the body minus those rust spots seems solid too.

I’m wondering if those rocker panels are replaceable and what the extent of repair is to that. My father and I (along with Grandfather who has restored many cars and motorcycles) will be doing the majority of the work. The frame swap doesn’t worry me as much as the rust but I could just be naive.

I’m fairly new to the LC community so any insight and recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Frame swap first, then body work? Where do I start? I also don’t know how much it would be to replace everything (DIY vs Body Shop). Really hoping I didn’t buy a dud but looking for honest feedback.

Happy to answer any questions and share more insight.
F1EE7E76-75AC-48DF-9A19-97C5A3071AE0.jpeg
502A9875-2B7A-4D14-A45E-9D62E5AEC533.jpeg
055BF308-FFDA-40EB-A04C-443CE1D1F86D.jpeg
52BDB460-F3FB-4AB6-8E10-C46775F12E4C.jpeg
1598F6AD-59BA-44C5-B405-523F549C7027.jpeg

Needs new rockers, and frame certainly looks to be toast. Can’t tell much beyond that given the photos.
Some people prefer to cut out that sheet metal and replace with solid rectangular steel tube.

Needs new rockers, and frame certainly looks to be toast. Can’t tell much beyond that given the photos.
Some people prefer to cut out that sheet metal and replace with solid rectangular steel tube.