FJ60 Not Idling/Running (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi, I'm a relative newbie to FJs (also current owner of LR4 and Vanagon...) and have been having a tough time getting my 85 FJ60 to run. It had been running very smoothly up until a few months ago (actually preferred this in the snow to the LR4) and then one day just wouldn't start easily at all. I left it sitting for a few months after it died and now have time to dig into it which I've been doing thanks to the great ideas on this forum. Here are the symptoms: Cranks well, choke on, feather the acc. pedal and eventually it fires up after quite a few cranks; immediately idles up to around 2000rpm without me touching the gas, and then just dies if I do nothing. I can catch it at the high idle point and give it more gas to keep it running (that's how I got it home a few months ago) but let off the gas and it dies immediately. I checked the Idle Control Valve wiring and it was clicking off and on when I applied and removed current. I actually hot wired both leads of the ICV direct to battery and made no difference to the condition. Fuel level in the carb at the window is right where expected (about half way) and stays there when the engine actually runs for the short period (before dying). Fuel pump is pumping OK. Checked every vacuum hose I could find and all appear to be tight (engine is desmogged). New leads, new plugs pretty recently. Took off gas cap and tried that - no change to symptoms. Ran some fuel direct into carb and this made starting much easier and idled at a normal RPM but then died as soon as it burnt through that little amount. I read in this forum somewhere that the igniter might be causing the issue but I don't understand how that could be the case if the engine will start (eventually) and run at high idle and with me giving it plenty of fuel. So, I'm thinking now that this is a blocked idle jet i