Fj40 5.3l Vortec Drive By Wire

Joined
Dec 30, 2016
Messages
28
Location
Santa Rosa, CA
Has anyone mounted a gm truck style drive by wire pedal in their Fj40 before? I have done a 05 5.3l vortec swap and have not found a good solution to mounting the dbw pedal with out it being crooked or having to cut the tunnel up. I am debating on making the tub narrower and adding to the floorboard or not. Any ideas appreciated.
 

pjohnson

SILVER Star
Joined
Jan 15, 2003
Messages
1,983
Location
Idaho
 
 
 
I think @OldRocDoc did dbw in the extended cab Old Red Farm Truck.

One of my very favorite builds.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
4,766
Location
Brea, Calif.
 
 
I believe there is a conversion kit for replacing/eliminating the drive by wire, but I have no info on it.
 
Joined
May 25, 2018
Messages
176
Location
Hamilton, New Zealand
This is what i did in my 70 series, mounted the pedal up side down on the fire wall in the middle and its operated by the toyota throttle cable. to keep it a bit higher in the cab, so when i do something stupid and the cab fulls up with water. its less likely to get wet , and i keep the high idle knob

Probably no good to you though, but its an idea
IMG_20200110_151711.jpg

IMG_20200110_151657.jpg

Cheers
 
Joined
May 25, 2018
Messages
176
Location
Hamilton, New Zealand
Im assuming the Holden pedal is the same as what you have?
But this is how i mounted it in my 40 series, I had to slot one of the holes in the plastic and the holes lined up with holes on the fire wall, and i had to trim the rod and fabricate a new bit to bolt up . I would have welded it on but that might be asking for trouble
DSCN2748.JPG

Cheers
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2016
Messages
28
Location
Santa Rosa, CA
I believe there is a conversion kit for replacing/eliminating the drive by wire, but I have no info on it.
I have looked into it but I kind of enjoy the drive by wire and I already have the TAC module mounted and my PCM and do not want to take it back out to re-pin it. I need to find a different pedal looks like. one that curves toward the brake and not towards the tunnel.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2016
Messages
28
Location
Santa Rosa, CA
Im assuming the Holden pedal is the same as what you have?
But this is how i mounted it in my 40 series, I had to slot one of the holes in the plastic and the holes lined up with holes on the fire wall, and i had to trim the rod and fabricate a new bit to bolt up . I would have welded it on but that might be asking for trouble
View attachment 2236430
Cheers
Nice! unfortunately mine is a left hand drive vehicle. I am jealous that yours is not!!
 

Lil'John

SILVER Star
Joined
Mar 24, 2006
Messages
5,912
Location
Nor Cal in the garage with a Cruiser
 
 
Converting from drive by wire to drive by cable isn't as simple as 'repining'. Most/all PCMs that are drive by wire don't have the hardware to go to drive by cable. Last time I priced PCMs, they were going for close to $100 with the stock tune. I also don't believe the drive by wire intake has any provisions to support a cable mount.

In my FJ55, the main pedal housing bolted in fine. To get rid of the hard right hand curve, I cut it out and welding in a flat piece of metal. Aside from melting a little bit of plastic, no big deal.
 
Top Bottom