fj40 3-speed vacuum case (1 Viewer)

Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
2,623
I have a 3-speed case that is vacuum and I would like to convert it over to linkage. I also have a linkage case, can I take the parts of the linkage case and put them on the the vacuum case. Will everything work right.

Thanks
 

Cruiser_Nerd

That 25 Guy.
Moderator
Joined
Dec 3, 2002
Messages
4,332
Location
Higganum.
Are you running a three speed or did you swap trannies? If you did, it won't be a straight bolt up deal for the linkage. Ran into the same thing when I swapped to a four speed.
 

cba

Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
21
has anyone kept the vacuum linkage?
i have a 76 without the lever on the dash. i am trying to find an electrical/mechanical switch i can install.
any suggestions? ???
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2002
Messages
432
buy a solenoid from MSC Direct or some place like that...

hey like i said on pirate...make sure you pop out that lock ring and swap bearings...the one in the three speed is brand spankin new...

-Max
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2002
Messages
85
Location
Davis, CA
I still have the vacuum actuated t-case. It hasn't caused me any problems yet, and since I don't get to wheel it all that often, I haven't made the effort to change it. That being said- if someone were to offer me the proper hardware to convert it to manual linkage- I might be persuaded... But until then- it's vacuum all the way!
Zipp.
 

cba

Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
21
i found an electrically activated pnuematic switch from a 95 4runner that will actuate the 2/4 lever similiar to the way an ARB works. i will put a momentary rocker switch with an indicator light that tells me when its in 4 wheel drive. should be cool if it works.
 

cba

Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
21
not sure about the failure part ???. i am doing a 420 swap and got a used 3 speed t-case that had the vacuum lever.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2003
Messages
6,248
Location
Georgia Tech
Its less apt to failure, no tubes and such to wear out with time, just plain simpler. Always remember to K.I.S.S. (Keep it simple, stupid)
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2003
Messages
7,184
Location
McCall, ID
I (or more likely the PO) got water in my vacuum mechanism, and it froze everything up when it got cold and I needed it. So that is one reason mechanical is better.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2003
Messages
6,248
Location
Georgia Tech
I (or more likely the PO) got water in my vacuum mechanism, and it froze everything up when it got cold and I needed it.  So that is one reason mechanical is better.
Oh yeah I remember that thread on SOR, that was a bugger for a while! ;)
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom