First time buyer - Too much rust on this diesel beast? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm a newbie hunting for my first FJ60 (or Hj60). I used to drive '60s Volvos, so I know what it means to have a "classic" car - and the TLCs have caught my eye!

I'd really like to get a diesel and run it on bio-diesel. I found this HJ60 up in Victoria, but it has rust issues. Take a look:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/gsvqqtszgpvaw3a/AACaFzpvpoFW6b5ZozGFzN8Ba#/

Here is what the seller said: "My dad kept the truck in top mechanical shape you could probably drive it across the country right now. The interior is in great shape no cracks in dash, seats have seat covers underneath a bit soiled. I totally agree about rust my dad was getting the rust removed as it appeared but he slacked off the last couple of years. Don't know about frame. There is a file an inch thick with service and repair records it's all up to date and serviced last year"

Here is the original ad:
http://victoria.en.craigslist.ca/cto/4518194995.html

Ideally I'd hold out for a rust-free body. But am I really going to find a rust-free original diesel? I missed out on bigmig's :). Any thoughts on what it might cost to mitigate the rust and do all the body work?

Thanks!

Mike

That's a lot of rust; there are no pics of the floor boards, under the rear carpet pad, rear of the frame (which is notorious), etc. I'd want some more specifics.

The rust can be repaired, but you'd be dealing with both body and frame repair; as you stated, it is probably easier to just find a clean body and frame with a bad motor and swap the motor/drivetrain.

There are a lot more guys on the site better able to give you some cost estimates for the rust repair, but if you were set on a diesel I'd strongly consider a clean body/frame and then do the swap.

My $0.02