First Repairs/replacements (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey all, I just bought a 1987 FJ60, runs great but lots of little things to do to make it more reliable (I can post a pic of under the hood tomorrow when it is light out). I have been researching the best first steps to take to make it run smoother and lower the chances of future problems. I have heard a lot about replacing the hoses. Is this a good place to get hoses (Hoses, Radiator ~ FJ60 ~ 4 Hose Kit ~ w/AC ~ TOYOTA), also how big of a job is this? I am new to all of this but want to make sure I do it right and get a truck that will last. All help/advice is appreciated...

Was the truck maintained by the previous owner or has it been neglected for a while?

Was the truck maintained by the previous owner or has it been neglected for a while?
It was pretty well maintained. He used it regularly and took good care of it. I have had some antifreeze spraying (little specs all over the engine) problems but other than that I haven't noticed anything. I mostly just want to get it in really good condition to feel comfortable on road trips.

I'm local to you and would be more than happy to meet up and help you assess where to go from here. I'd definitely figure out where the spraying antifreeze is coming from first, though.

there are alot more than 4 hoses if you want to change them all.
on the heater hoses, what type of hose clamp is on the hose? if it is a 2 wire type oem clamp, there is a good chance they are original
oil cooler, heater hoses, plus the ones underneath, etc

I'm local to you and would be more than happy to meet up and help you assess where to go from here. I'd definitely figure out where the spraying antifreeze is coming from first, though.
That would be awesome! Would for sure appreciate the guidance. Here are pics of the truck...
1. just the car
2. Right Side of the hood
3. Center