Finally!

Joined
Mar 27, 2003
Messages
6,169
Location
Georgia Tech
Well, finally laid my eyes on an SM420 today. :D

After ~ 2 years of trying to find one locally for a reasonable price, or even one to be shipped, I finally broke down and just bought new. :D

I know Butch was somewhat doubtful that the NOS SM420 was a reality, I figured I would post up to confirm it is. Only catch is that you must find a civilian top plate as the military one is set up for some kind of remote linkage. Military surplus trannies also do not have a PTO opening. Not really a big deal, but I was planning on trying to mate a SM420 PTO to a Ramsey or Toyota winch drum. Oh well. :rolleyes:

Tranny even came wrapped in 40 year old oiled cheesecloth, all shafts had original protective sleeves, and the best part is I don't have to fawk with cleaning and painting it.

Tranny - $325
Shipping from Cali to GA- ~$75
Top plate plus shipping- $75
CIMG0236 (Small).JPG
CIMG0237 (Small).JPG
CIMG0238 (Small).JPG
 

Poser

Oh...Durka Durka Durka.
s-Moderator
Supporting Vendor
 
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2003
Messages
20,186
Location
MN
Post up who you purchased it from....


8274-50 is in your future..... ;)



Good luck!


-Steve
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2003
Messages
6,169
Location
Georgia Tech
Oops-

Antelope Valley Truck parts
http://www.avettruck.com/
Gotta call. Ask for Steve. Great to deal with. Ordered it one week, had it the next.


I know, I know. Just waiting for a deal to stare me in the face. :rolleyes: Probably wait for another year and then break down and buy a new one. :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2003
Messages
6,169
Location
Georgia Tech
My 3spd toyota shifter.

Supposedly works without a problem.

4spd shifter can be used, but the bottom part that moves inside the gates must be lengthened.
 

FJ40Jim

The Cruiser Whisperer
 
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2003
Messages
10,392
Location
Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Hey bailey,
A brand new SM420? That's pretty cool!

Could you post up a closeup pic of the data plate?
Enquiring minds wanna read it.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2003
Messages
6,169
Location
Georgia Tech
Jim, I was dissapointed when I first took a look, as I can't find a serial number that corresponds to the one civilian 420's have that can be decoded to find build date. I'm not sure what time period Gamma Goats were built during, so I don't know exactly how old the transmission is. Supposedly they are the same as the later 420's aside from the wonky top plate.
serial plate.jpg
 

Poser

Oh...Durka Durka Durka.
s-Moderator
Supporting Vendor
 
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2003
Messages
20,186
Location
MN
CruisinGA said:
Supposedly they are the same as the later 420's


You are correct with this info.


I purchased two of them in SLC back in 1995. Still have one, and sold one to Jimmy V... ;)



Should work good Bailey.



:beer:
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
701
do make sure you have the right top plate for that tranny. I think there were atleast two varieities.
I would drill a hole and thread it where the PTO cover would have been so You can fill and check the oil level. Its nearly impossible to get at the fill plug once the t-case is attached.

Pretty cool!

Dustin
 

honk

 
Joined
Nov 14, 2004
Messages
3,413
Location
PNW
The GammaGoat was an odd thing. Six drive wheels. Some were designed to be driven normally and others were made to couple with the other type backward, hooked up back end to back end like some train locomotives do. So the normal kind had four forward gears and reverse while the other type had four reverse gears and a forward.

We assume you bought the trans for a forward driver, not the pusher?
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2003
Messages
6,169
Location
Georgia Tech
honk said:
We assume you bought the trans for a forward driver, not the pusher?
We'll assume that until I discover otherwise :D

Whatever gear the tranny is in right now, is a forward gear. haven't tried to shift with the wonky linkage.

Should work good Bailey.
Thanks Steve, hope so. Really looking forward to getting this in. Sooner I get it in, the longer my clutch will live. :D

Steve- can you confirm as to whether or not the 3spd shifter will work?

do make sure you have the right top plate for that tranny. I think there were atleast two varieities.
Do you mean a variety other than the last year ('67) top plates that had a reverse switch installed unlike all other years?
 

Poser

Oh...Durka Durka Durka.
s-Moderator
Supporting Vendor
 
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2003
Messages
20,186
Location
MN
If you have a late 420 top plate with the back up switch installed, it should work, just like the earlier ones would.


Yes, the Toyota three-speed shifter cane works just fine in a 420 top plate. That is the way mine is set up.


Good luck!


-Steve
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2003
Messages
6,169
Location
Georgia Tech
Poser said:
If you have a late 420 top plate with the back up switch installed, it should work, just like the earlier ones would.
Unfortunatley my top plate does not have the backup switch. Just wanted to see if there was a difference in top plates over the years aside from that switch.


Thanks!
 
Top Bottom