Factory Rear Locker Axle Vs. Non-Locker (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

LFD2037

TEXAS LEXUS!
Threads
I read the factory e-locker rear axle is an 8" and the non-locker is an 8.4". Is this true? If so, is the 8.4" significantly stronger? I've been trying to find a white or silver 2002-04 Tacoma DC 4WD TRD so I get the e-locker but with low miles and decent condition it's proving quite difficult.
Is it better to get the non TRD with the 8.4" Axle and add an ARB ($1,100 installed) or am I better off, money wise, getting a TRD with e-locker?

I'm no expert but since no one has answered...

I believe you are correct on the approximate diameters of the ring gears. But 0.4" difference in diameter doesn't necessarily indicate a strength difference. Lots more to it than that.

I believe the factory e-lockers are pretty robust but they do break in hard use. Without a doubt the ARB properly set up is stronger. What is your intended use/abuse (do you need the strength of the ARB?)

In an nutshell if you're going to pony up an extra $1,000 or more to get a TRD just for the e-locker then buy a rig with an open diff and add ARB. But then you need air ($200-$500.) Tho the TRD might have other goodies that you want but you will pay the TRD premium.

And for what's it's worth I'm putting Eaton Tru-Trac front and rear in my 2003 Taco for the cost of one ARB (talking locker cost only - obviously lots of labor in putting a locker up front.)

Harrop makes a Elocker for Toyota Tacoma rear with shim type differential. I'm not sure if the first gens are shimmed or not.
Can't say more as locker are still on the to-do list for me.

We have been importing and distributing Harrop/Eaton elockers in US since 2015. We also led development of a version for the US axle 8.4" (not sold outside of North America). We have sold over 400 so far with no failures.