F series to H series engine (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey everyone,
im considering swapping my f engine for a diesel and was curious as to what the pros and cons would be.
is it worth the time and money?
if i do make the swap what would be the best fit. i have a 1974 fj40
how many additional changes would i have to make/ additional parts to buy if the swap was made.
im not incredibly experienced but im a ch-47 mechanic and figure that the basic concepts transfer over.
thank you-duke775

Hi Duke,

Below is the chassis dimensions for FJ and HJ, IMHO try and find a 2H as the H Engine has engine mounts which are located on the front of block and bellhousing as the H engine never had the rear transmission cross member meaning you would need to relocate both front chassis engine mounts and fabricate rear mounts.
Frames_zpssztl8so4.jpg

H%20engine_zps5wldt7ws.jpg

Looks like the FJ has a rear transmission support, depending on what transmission you are using as the diesel and petrol boxes are different, eg input shafts., changing to a H box may lead you to then having to change your parking brake and drive shafts lengths front and rear, electrics for glow plugs and edic would also need to be installed.

The old H engines which i have had 3, would climb trees if you let them, being low torque and high compression, tailwinds are also preferred, but again IMHO go the 2H.

Hope this helped.

cheers
HJ45

Last edited:
I agree with HJ45, go 2H if you can. My first 45 had a 2H fitted into an FJ45 body, and there were surprising few major alertarions. The mounts stayed on both the engine and gear box.
As for pros and cons
Pros
So much torque that when you floor it, the earth spins in the other direction.
Better fuel consumption. I got 8km to the liter and I drive only one way, lead foot.