Exhaust fumes (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey Everyone,
I recently purchased my first Landcruiser.........on Ebay. Yea, that was probably my first mistake. An 85'FJ60 w/164,000 miles. I have loved both the 40's and 60's for a long time and finally was able to get one.
I am a definite newbie to Land Cruisers and need some guidance. First, the exhaust fumes seem strong. My wife tells me I smell like an exhaust pipe when I come home. It is a little noticeable in the cabin when idling at a stop light. It doesn't seem to smoke badly though. I took it to a mechanic on something unrelated and they said that the compression is low. I am praying the rings aren't bad but suspect the valves. Would this cause the strong smell??
Also, I am leaking oil from both front wheels. It is coming from the front felt seal and running onto the tires and floor. How difficult of a fix is this??
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

How much rust is in this body? If your exhaust system is leaking anywhere under the vehicle, it can make its way into the cabin.

The oil leaking in the front is a inner axle seal, that has failed and is allowing gear oil to mix with the Moly grease that should be in the knuckle. It is probably time for a front end ectomy, and would be a safe bet that one has not ever been done.(knuckle re-build). It is a fairly involved undertaking, but can be done. If you do not have them already, I would get the Toyota factory service manuals for this truck.

Good luck!

-Steve

The body is virtually rust free. I don't know about the exhaust system though. Will definitely check.
I only have a Haynes manual but will take your advice and get a factory service manual.
thanks for the response