Engine swap choices or rebuild? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Just wanted to pick the collective brain and experience out there, my engine has been poorly maintained by the previous owner and I will need to either rebuild or swap for ease of mind and to correct the current symptoms:
  • Low oil pressure,
  • Clicking sound from the lower engine part (piston bearing shells and / or crankshaft)
  • Oil consumption
  • Black smoke
I am at a cross road, I am far more familiar with petrol engines and love the 1FZ-FE, we do have 2 variants in Egypt the 1FZ-FE with one ignition coil (injection) and one with 3 ignition coils (Injection) which is was introduced in 1998 in the 100 model.
I have zero experience with diesel and although a lot of friends do recommended and swear by it I am still a bit inclined to got petrol.

So long story and my question (finally) has any one swamped their 1FZ-FE with the 100 series variant and if so any noticable gain in power and fuel consumption?

I guess not a lot of those variants around .... so any takers ?

State side you could take an engine from a later model 80 and get it to work in your early model 80. The biggest difference is the sensors and wire harness. But as long as you swap the sensors from the early model motor over to the new one and use the existing harness you should be fine.

There is a gentleman here on the forum that did the distributor less head on his 80 and is making tons of power. But he is on a fully built turbo motor.

Research the cost of a rebuild vs doing a LS (GM) motor swap. GM V8 swap read through this post and see what is more beneficial to you.

Domestic V8 swap may or may not be as viable in Egypt

Not many stateside have done this swap to the distributor less coil pack setup.

Frank with LCH imported and started documenting but he lives more in the instagram world where pretty pics rule over tech