engine and gearbox match (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi Dear Fellows
I am new in ih8mud. I have '83 BJ46 JDM Spec. My plan is to swap the 3B to a smaller engine and swap H55F to an automatic gearbox. Is there a kind of list or someone who can tell which engine can be married with which automatic gearbox?
Thank you in advance.
Great weekend to all of you.

What for? Smaller? 🤯 Install turbo to that 3B and let it run.

P.S. There is a transfer case after the gearbox which you have to get dealed with too if you are changing it.

P.P.S. Sell the BJ and buy some other automatic small engine SUV.

Hi Matti
Thank you for your reply and suggestions.

Here is my plan...(at least the plan in theory).
Les say that: Engine + Transmission + Transfercase = Power unit

Engine: 3+1 main reasons of many to change:
1) I live in Turkey. Here in Turkey, the fuel (gas and diesel) is sooo expensive. Since I want to drive her everyday, I want to be driving a smaller engine to save from fuel expenses.
2) In my country, government charges "motor vehicle tax" to the owners of the vehicles, based on the "how big the engine is" or in other words depending on the "displacement of the engine". If I swap the engine from 3400cc to 2400cc, that makes a huge difference concerning tax.
3) 3B is a bulletproof engine. I know it. But it so noisy, runs like a tractor engine and it is extremely hard to find spares and very rare to find a workshop where I can have it repaired or fixed it. On the other hand there are so many newer Toyota engine running around like on Hilux etc.
4) My wife doesn't like it that way. (I wrote last but I think this is no:2 reason)
The engine in my mind is 2LT or 2LT-E

Transmission: