Dual diaphragm brake booster install (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey Mud, this is a quick walk thru for installing the City Racer dual diaphragm brake booster in your FJ60. There's a posted installation guide for the FJ40, which serves as a general guide for the swap. OTRAMM also has a useful 80 series video on their channel. I'm doing this specific swap for the first time due to a failing OE booster— I'm not an expert. Chime in below if I've missed something or done something wrong :)

You'll need:
  • ratchet with a U-joint, a short and medium extension, and 12 and deep 13mm sockets. Wobble sockets could be used if you have those
  • Needle nose pliers or a pick for the spring cotter
  • Screwdriver and adjustable wrench for the yoke and jam nut
  • Pliers and the above wrench for the output acorn and jam nut
  • 13mm offset combination wrench or ratcheting wrench if you don't have a deep 13mm
  • Calipers (optional, but recommended)

Follow the steps in the above guides to remove the 4 12mm nuts holding the master to the booster, I also needed to remove a 12mm bolt on the firewall that retains 3 of the brake lines to allow for enough freedom to gently flex the master toward the front of the truck. Then go into the driver's footwell area and locate the connection between the pedal and the booster input rod:

Remove the spring cotter, then push the connecting pin out of the yoke. The booster can now be removed from the firewall. Measure the distance between the firewall mounting surface and the yoke-jam nut interface, in this case mine was 4 1/2". Transfer the existing yoke to the new booster and set it at the same measurement. The City Racer booster is supplied with a spacer, but on the 60 it doesn't appear to be required, nor is there enough input rod to reach the matching measurement. I removed it.