1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Drop the sway bar without blocks

Discussion in '80-Series Tech' started by LandCruiserPhil, Mar 26, 2004.

  1. LandCruiserPhil

    LandCruiserPhil Peter Pan Syndrome Supporting Vendor

    Messages:
    20,058
    Media:
    55
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    9,438
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Scottsdale Arizona
    I could not take the looks of the front sway bar “block” anymore so I changed it.

    Cut the factory bracket off at the base. Dropped the rear of the front sway bar down until all mounting points were level. Measured the gap and cut a piece of ½ ID pipe (your choice) and welded together.

    So far the modification has seen 2000 miles of all types of driving and looks like it will last or at least it has not broke yet. I do believe everything can break under right/wrong condition. My hopes are that during my up coming knuckle project (thanks CDan) I will also fab up quick disconnects for the front sway bar eliminating stressful conditions during 4wheeling. See any problems?


    Standard disclaimer: Front-end modifications can kill you so I’m not saying to do this. I’m just sharing what I did.

    Phil
     
  2. Junk

    Junk

    Messages:
    6,177
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    buggerville nj
    Phil, that looks great. Good job. How far did you end up dropping it? Looks like about 4"?

    Nice disclaimer too. We frequently all forget that that messing with this stuff can have bad effects.
     
  3. LandCruiserPhil

    LandCruiserPhil Peter Pan Syndrome Supporting Vendor

    Messages:
    20,058
    Media:
    55
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    9,438
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Scottsdale Arizona
    Junk, without measuring you are close if not exact. I don’t remember how much of the stub went into the pipe.

    Thanks for the thumbs up.

    Phil
     
  4. inacoma

    inacoma

    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Location:
    Aurora, CO
    That's a pretty good idea. And if you have it out and are cutting and welding, may I suggest sleaving it and then boring a hole for a nice thick pin so that it can be quick disconnect! i.e. have two seperate sized pipes (one fitting into the other) than cross drilling a hole through it all. man, I'm going to get on this once I get the 40 running.

    I am curious though, at full dropp does your front axle now hit the front driveshaft?

    Kumar
    ...his blocks were 1/2 inch too short and thus ripped the axle mounts off...that's why i have a welder ;)
     
  5. LandCruiserPhil

    LandCruiserPhil Peter Pan Syndrome Supporting Vendor

    Messages:
    20,058
    Media:
    55
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    9,438
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Scottsdale Arizona
    [quote author=inacoma link=board=2;threadid=13772;start=msg128193#msg128193 date=1080460301]

    I am curious though, at full dropp does your front axle now hit the front driveshaft?

    [/quote]

    No my driveline is connected to my axle.

    If you are asking about driveline contact with sway bar??? – No

    Prior to the new set up I was running a 3” block with no contact also.

    Phil
     
  6. inacoma

    inacoma

    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Location:
    Aurora, CO
    oops, sorry about the driveline comments ... too much work, not enough play :)

    Kumar
     
  7. PHAEDRUS

    PHAEDRUS

    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    inacoma,
    the disconnects while they sound cool arent very feasible, look under the truck and at the curve in the sway bar and you will see the problem with disconnecting it.
    Dave
     
  8. landtoy80

    landtoy80

    Messages:
    5,802
    Likes Received:
    314
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Location:
    North Front Range, CO
    I was woundering why you could disconnect the swaybar on the fj60 and no one does it on the 80.
     
  9. PHAEDRUS

    PHAEDRUS

    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    I dont know on the 60 but on mine if you disconnected form the axle side there is no where to put it. it has a cut out for the front drive line and if you roll it backwards and out of the way it will hit the drive line.
    Dave
     
  10. inacoma

    inacoma

    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Location:
    Aurora, CO
    hmmm, you are saying the front shaft gets in the way. what if one was to disconnect at the axle mount, than hang the mount from above with nice long springs...that way when the driveshaft hits the horizontal bar the springs will allow the sway bars to "give a little". one day when I get time to work on this, i'll show what i'm talking about, not sure if I typed it out to understand :beer:

    Kumar
     
  11. LandCruiserPhil

    LandCruiserPhil Peter Pan Syndrome Supporting Vendor

    Messages:
    20,058
    Media:
    55
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    9,438
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Scottsdale Arizona
    Kumar, I’m with you on disconnecting the sway bar from the axle. On my application it seems possible to swing the front of the sway bar up to fabricated fixed mount just below the frame. Where you would be able to pin the sway bar in place and out of harms way.
    It all looks good laying under the truck I see what happens when I get the welder out.

    Phil
    :cheers:
     
  12. PHAEDRUS

    PHAEDRUS

    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    NO one will be more stoked than me if you figure it out so let us know.
    Dave
     
  13. cruiserdan

    cruiserdan SupportingVendor Emeritus Moderator

    Messages:
    21,817
    Likes Received:
    5,392
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Surrounded by Cruisers from all over the world
    I recently spent a good bit of time studying my swaybar whilst I fixed another bit :whoops: .

    I do not see a practical way to unhook only one side of one.

    However it can be completely removed in under 5 minutes with the proper hand tools that should be in your trail kit anyway.

    I have never had a need or desire to take mine out of the loop as I am not that extreme :bust: ;) But, if I was I would not want it dangling under there whilst I was pounding the rocks.


    D-
     
  14. lyrikz

    lyrikz

    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    IS there a picture im missing?
     
  15. Polak

    Polak

    Messages:
    1,298
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Location:
    KIND
    Yes. A lot of the old threads lost their associated pics during some server thing-a-ma-bob woody was doing. You'll notice this one's over 6 years old.
     
  16. Tools R Us

    Tools R Us

    Messages:
    21,788
    Likes Received:
    3,242
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    Here is a pic of my rears, the fronts are done the same way (cant find a pic:eek:). On the fronts, care needs to be taken with heat, due to the joint. They were cut close to the lower plate to keep the weld/heat away from the joint.
    sway_drop.jpg sway_drop1.jpg
     
  17. landtank

    landtank SILVER Star

    Messages:
    18,988
    Likes Received:
    1,134
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Groveland MA
    I did the same thing that Tools did with my HD links, not welded just made that way. I like it better than a drop bracket. For you guys with the side mounts I'd consider going with the under the frame style as they seem more sturdy.
     
  18. 96r50

    96r50

    Messages:
    2,817
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    At what point do you start to need to extend the swaybar links?
     
  19. Ebag333

    Ebag333

    Messages:
    8,161
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    Medford, OR
    I was just wondering the same thing. Sitting at about 3.5", and haven't really even thought about extending the sway bars....
     
  20. Tools R Us

    Tools R Us

    Messages:
    21,788
    Likes Received:
    3,242
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    On the front, it's a drive shaft clearance thing, mainly caused by CC, but also somewhat affected by long shocks, at full droop. My test is done when installing the lift, with the sway bar disconnected and the suspension fully drooped, attempt to install the sway bar, there maybe interference, contact between the sway bar and driveshaft.

    On the rear it's mainly an efficiency thing, but also a bracket angle issue, with long shocks the short links can become bound/bent at full flex. The sway bar is more effective when parallel with the ground, but then would be a rock magnet, prone to damage.

    Mine has ~5" of lift and pretty good flex. The rears are extended ~2" and the front ~2.5", works, is a good compromise for my use.
     
data-matched-content-rows-num="2,1" data-matched-content-columns-num="1,4" data-matched-content-ui-type="image_stacked" data-ad-format="autorelaxed">