Driving 330 miles in my FJ40 - talk me off the cliff (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Ok, so I need to be honest with the group here....I've owned my 1981 FJ40 now for over 1.5 years and it has been quite a journey. I'm still new to this platform and falling in love with it everyday - and yet, not so happy about replacing a leaky steering box and lines since acquiring it. I am struggling with the idea that I can drive my FJ40 330 miles to the beach (GA to Destin, FL) with confidence. Much of this is due to the fact, I have only driven my FJ40 on weekends - maybne 50-75miles to a location or active short drives. To date, I have made some significant upgrades/updates including all coolant/water hoses replaced, thermostat replaced, belts replaced, de-smogged (and running much stringer now), full carb rebuilt, fuel lines replaced, full front knuckles rebuilt, front brakes and discs replaced, new plugs, wires, fuel filter and dist. cap/rotor, all gear oil changes, coolant changed, oil changed, etc. Tires are fairly new and has small oil leak at the transfer case as well as oil pan (the gasket at the rear saddle was installed incorrectly by the PO). Engine is good on compression on all cylinders and runs really strong....on highway I can do 55-60mps with some shaking at the steeringwheel.

I just need some sagely advice and reassurance that this FJ40 will be fine for a 330 mile journey to the coast and 330 miles back. I understand that driving on major highways, its loud and noisy and sometimes a bit shaky at the wheels...and it would be 5.50 hours total trip....with 60% on major highways......the other 40% on b-roads where the FJ40 comes alive with comfortable and relaxed driving,