Downshifting (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I've driven stick shift vehicles for the past 15 years, and I've made it a matter of personal habit to routinely downshift as a way to save my brakes - especially on long downhill stretches.

Being my Land Cruiser has an auto tranny, I find myself shifting from D to 2 to slow the vehicle down quite often. Is this bad for an automatic transmission? Are there some negative long term effects I should be aware of? Like I said I am rather new to automatic transmissions and would hate to screw it up. Does anyone else do this or has feedback on downshifting with an auto tranny?

long down hill stretches put a lot of heat in your brakes worst case possibly causing your fluid to boil, (no brakes) also more chance to warp your rotors that is a good place to down shift, for normal stops (light to light) just use your brakes that are a lot cheaper to replace also a lot easier on you drive line, with a manual you get to clutch it in, in an auto down shifting is harsher