Do I need to adjust valves after having my head resurfaced? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
instagram.com
Hi, I just had 6 thousands taken off my head. Bolted it all back together. Is it necessary to re-adjust my valves now? Since the head is slightly lower I'm wondering if it will affect how it runs.

I'm still learning how to work on engines. Thanks. (May 1973 F Engine)

For sure. I assume you removed the rocker assembly before removing the head. And if you did, you should have loosened all the adjusters first and then they would be all loose when bolted back on so the rocker assembly pedestal bolt & stud torque would be accurate. I check/adjust the valves anytime I have the valve cover off.
"This" thread has some info you might find helpful.

Last edited:
0.08” to 0.1” @brian?

0.08” to 0.1” @brian?

I did 00.03..in hindsight after getting it back together and feeling the results...should have gone for nearly the full monty...00.08-00.1...as my results were pretty impressive just at 30.

And check bolt lengths after.

Yeah. They need to reach torque (95 ft-lbs) before bottoming out. If a lot of material is removed, they may reach bottom before enough compression keeps head gasket, et al, in place.

Yeah. They need to reach torque (95 ft-lbs) before bottoming out. If a lot of material is removed, they may reach bottom before enough compression keeps head gasket, et al, in place.
How would I know if they hit the bottom? And what could I even do about this?