Disconnecting ABS?

Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
1,420
Location
Athol, MA
I am in the process of swapping in Non-Toyota axles under my 97 FZJ80 and one of my concerns is the stock ABS system. Can this system be disconnected or disabled without interfering with other computer systems? I'd also prefer not to have and ABS light on either. Just unplug and go? New Non-ABS master cylinder? The vehicle will not be a daily driver but needs to be safe on the road.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
294
Location
Norfolk, VA
Pull the fuse in the engine bay fuse block? Not sure if this would interfere with any other systems or not. Just a thought.
 

TX_TLC

 
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2003
Messages
1,480
Location
Texas
No ABS here either...pull the fuse and the light in the dash = no worries.
 

beno

Gihee Arakawa
Moderator
Supporting Vendor
GOLD Star
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Messages
25,599
Location
Woodstock, NY, USA
No ABS fuse here either. Thinking about removing the entire system....
 

IdahoDoug

 
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2003
Messages
8,868
Just a word of caution on this. Your insurance carrier is undoubtedly under the impression that your vehicle has ABS, and this is reflected in your rates. If you are involved in a motor vehicle accident and the other vehicle's insurance company discovers that you actively deactivated your ABS you could end up in a world of hurt. I am not an insurance expert by any means but have been involved in vehicle litigation from the mfr side and this is a material deterioration in your vehicle's braking capability that may let your insurance company assess you a generous helping of the damages and ask for money back on the rate discount you were getting. It may also let the other driver's insurance company or lawyer sue you on the basis that you negligently disabled a feature on your vehicle that resulted in harm to their client.

So, consider how this will look in the real world where accidents occur through no fault of your own, but that may change your life dramatically. I don't know the motive for doing these mods, but at the least take your fuse out and overload it so it blows, then put it back in. And no, DougM did not type this - I'm his buddy and just happened to see this post. He would never suggest intentionally blowing a fuse.
 

Waggoner5

SILVER Star
 
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2003
Messages
3,056
Location
San Clemente, CA
I completely removed all traces of ABS on my truck. There is no issue with computer problems doing this. What axles are you going to use? What will you be doing with the 80 stuff?
Gary
 

beno

Gihee Arakawa
Moderator
Supporting Vendor
GOLD Star
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Messages
25,599
Location
Woodstock, NY, USA
Thanks DougM's 'buddy'....

"I guess that fuse maybe fell out or something...it's really rickety in there...."
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
1,420
Location
Athol, MA
The 80's axles, 97 with about 10,000 mile on Reider Racing 4.88's and a rear locker (Aussie) will be sold when they are eventually removed.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
1,454
Location
Pacific Northwest
Wish you would have posted this a week ago--I just sent Dan $280 for a new ABS wiring harnes.... Doug's friends idea of a blown fuse sounds swell.
 

IdahoDoug

 
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2003
Messages
8,868
Whups, just reread and realized you're doing an axle swap. I, uh, my friend, was under the impression you were just disconnecting the ABS on an otherwise stock rig.

Beautiful job, TiredIron - just beautiful. I've always liked the Volvos and one day would like to have one to play with. Make mine a radio truck, which I'll install pullman folding bunks in and make an efficient little 'go anywhere' offroad RV.

DougM
 
Top Bottom