08-15 Brake Upgrade (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

NKP Garage

Forever Learning
SILVER Star
Threads
Website
www.youtube.com
Did the brakes on our 2009 LX570 over the weekend. I went with PowerStop Z36 heavy duty towing brakes. But the procedure is the same no matter which brakes you use.

Very easy truck to work on and the brake job from start to finish was around 1 hour. That's with using a normal floor jack and no air tools. I'm not a professional by any means, but here's the walkthrough video I did incase anyone else is doing their Land Cruiser/LX570 200 series brakes for the first time.

This is the kit I ordered, comes with everything you need for Front + Rear: Power Stop K4117-36 Truck and Tow Z36 Brake Upgrade Kit | eBay - http://ebay.us/kJGUcg

Last edited:
Going with unpainted/coated rotors is something I will never do again. The PowerStop stuff I ran on the 4Runner was unimpressive.

Going with unpainted/coated rotors is something I will never do again. The PowerStop stuff I ran on the 4Runner was unimpressive.
Which powerstop setup did you go with on the 4runner? I'm using the Z36 setup. So far after a few days it has been noticeably better than my factory brakes which still had around 60% remaining on them before I swapped out for these Powerstop Z36 brakes/rotors. Looking at the specs it looks like this Z36 setup has plated rotors that come with it.

Last edited:
Just a quick update. I have put around 1000 miles on the new brakes between city driving, highway driving, and towing our boat. The Powerstop brakes grab noticeably stronger than the stock Lexus/Toyota brakes. To my surprise, much stronger. I thought it would be a little difference or no difference at all, but they truly do perform way better than the factory brakes. I especially notice it when towing our boat, it is night and day difference from the stock brakes.