Cruise Control diagnostics 1994 FZJ80 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
The CC was not working when I got my rig, As a disabled veteran, I can use it since every trip to desert stratus with a 120 mile trip on the toll way.

THE SYMPTOMS: pushing the on button the green cruise lamp in the instrument cluster to light on, pushing the set button will give you 5 quick flashes and it will die. The only way to get the cruise lamp on again is shut down and restart the engine.

I ordered a CC unit from a mud member and replaced it but no luck.

So I was looking for a professional to look at it every one refused :(

I read the FMS (Enclosed) the 5 flashes is a CC ECU fatal error and there is a code stored, I pulled the code and got 12.

cc94.jpg

Googled the web and MUD for info found many threads with this in driver seat diagnostics
A. Turn the ignition switch on.
B. Turn the control switch to SET/Coast position, and keep it there.
C.Push the main switch ON.
D.check that the indicator light "CRUISE" lights-up in the
combination meter.
E.Turn the SET/Coast switch off
F.Meet the conditions listed in the table below.
G. Read the diagnostic code on the cruise control indicator light.
.................................................. ................
#1 Turn the control switch to SET/Coast position
there should be two flashes and then a second break and then two
flashes, then break then two flashes etc. If you get the flashes your
SET/Coast circuit is normal.
#2 Turn the control switch to RES/ACC possition.
this time you get a pause and three flashes, repeated again and
again. if you get the three flashes RES/ACC circuit is ok.
#3 Each switch is turned on
a. Control switch to CANCEL.
b. Stop light switch, (step on brake)
c. parking brake switch. ( pull up parking brake)
d.Neutral start switch. ( put in neutral)
if when you test each of the 4 cancel switches you DO NOT get any