Wanted Connecticut FJ43 BJ46 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Year
Vehicle Model
  1. 40 Series
Mileage
Color
Green
I'm a newbie so here goes, I've been reading the FJ43 threads about FJ 43's from South America. I used to own a 1978 FJ40 US spec LHD which was a bit too much of a project and too I found the bed too small. I would like to take the time to buy the "Right" LHD FJ43 or BJ46 would I prefer to pay for body quality and outsource only mechanical work. In terms of priorities, I like the look of a Green FJ: John Deere Green, mint green, forest green - in that order. If I have to I'm willing to re-paint a car that's an excellent body condition, but I'd prefer not to do it. I'd also prefer a hard top model (Live in CT = COLD winters). One of the factory OEM hard tops would be great OR one of the Columbian MPR fiberglass hard tops with the large 1 piece door would be fine. I never liked the ambulance doors due to the limited visibility. Budget is in the $18k-28K range. Willing to stretch for quality. I Have researched at least four currently on the market and could use some knowledgeable pre-purchase advice regarding mechanicals here or perhaps on the phone. I have inspected 2 of the below - both have issues but seem solid enough. here are some of the candidates so far:
Key questions that I need advice on regarding mechanicals are:
  • Do the post 79FJ43's from the South American market have the updated split transfer case and front disc brakes that the US spec FJ40's had? If not how important is that for drivability? Some of the above have factory PS-it is "good" enough? I like PS! I cant determine if they have OEM PB? or missing mechanical in engine bay- I am knowledgeable, but no mechanic on the finer points of the 2F engines.