Cone Washer Hub Stud Stripped - Help! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I've stripped one of the studs coming out through the front right hub flange (the 6 studs that you put the cone washer, washer, and nut onto), and can't get the nut back on it. I need help removing the stud and replacing it. I've already ordered OEM replacement from local dealership, although it won't be here for a few days.

Background: Alright, I'm a total novice mechanic, but I have the internet, some down time, and not a ton of money. I set out to replace my front rotors and pads, and repack the bearings based on some youtube videos and DIY threads here. I completed the job and was thrilled. Well, apparently I didn't tighten one of the hub-to-rotor bolts back on tight enough, it shook loose after several months and was stuck between the rotor and the dust shield. This loose bolt got wedged against the little "bump" that covers the ABS sensor and completely flattened it, causing total brake failure. Luckily I was a block from my house when it happened.

I have now replaced the ABS sensor, re-installed the rotor and got as far as putting the hub back on when I realized that I had stripped one of the 6 studs that have the cone washers on them. I cannot wrench the nut more than halfway down onto the stud. I need to get this stud out, but cannot get it loose. There isn't much clearance to work with. I've tried a vice grip, but it basically spins in place around the stud. I also have 10" pipe wrench, but can't get it to "bite down" and grip onto the stud. I am at a loss of what to do here.