clutch fork movement (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey all I have a 72 fj-40 with a 350 and 4 speed LC transmission... When the clutch is fully released it has been making a scraping noise. I figured it was just the flywheel cover being loose, so when I took a look tonight I noticed that the clutch slave is leaking. I also was able to move the clutch fork when the car was running and in neutral both up & down and twisting... made that same scraping noise. Is this thing supposed to be secured in there somewhere? Does it rely on the clutch slave to keep its position, or should it stay still regardless? Just thought I would save myself some work by asking, with midterms coming up and all. If I've been too vague let me know and I will describe further.

I would post some example pics, but I don't know how to post. I'm just a fawkin newbie :flipoff2:

:beer:Big Mike:beer:

P.S. The slave cylinder looks like its stock from the 3-speed... shouldn't it be from a 4 speed? The master is also stock :flipoff2:

Hey Mike,

I have a 60, and don't know exactly what similarities/differences there are between our two clutch setups...but here's what I've found so far on mine...my clutch fork is kept in place by a spring pin, but it does move around as you describe. The slave pin seems to keep it in place also (more or less). There is a scraping noise that I get once every few months, and I just spray some MP lube on some of the metal to metal surfaces on the fork. This makes the scraping go away for awhile. Poor descriptions I know, and to top it off, I'm just learning as I go.

Good luck with mid-terms. While I don't have to suffer through them anymore like you do, I now help my son study for his, and that's a different kind of misery...

Best Regards,

Doug Graham