CDL, RR, 4Hi, 4Lo....WTF???, ULTRA Newb Help!

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello,

Ok so I'm an Ultra newb when it comes to offroading.

I've been lurking on IH8MUD for a couple of days now to research FJZ80's (Awesome site btw!)

Basically I want a vehicle that's affordable, sunroof, able to carry loads of ppl, and be able to take me out in the backcountry.

I'm not interested in "Crawling" or "Baja", just a vehicle that will allow me to take the trail roads and be able to get back out.

So far, the FJZ80 fits the bill.

Ok so for my first question (of many I'm sure):

Can someone please graph out or detail the various 4WD driving options? :confused:I'm so confused as to when to use 4Hi or 4Lo? Then you have the RR and FR locking differentials? When do you use these? Then you have the CDL....:bang: when do you use this option? :crybaby: It's just too much for my little brain to handle:doh:

I've used the search option here but I can't find a simple explanation of all the options.

Sorry for being so newbie but I have to start somewhere:bang:

See? I told you I'm a Ultra newb. I can't even get the name right...LOL

Im sure others will chime in but....so our 80s are All Wheel Drive Full Time meaning they all spin at certain times, at the same rate and at different rates at other times to provide more traction.

4Hi is for your daily driving (0-100+ MPH) on paved roads/highways. To switch it into 4Lo, throw your truck into neutral, then put it in 4lo. 4Lo is for off road crawling (0-5 MPH), this locks your center differential (CDL) which divides power to both front/rear axles evenly. Then you have a CDL/7 Pin mod, search on how to do it. Basically, it allows you to lock your CDL in 4Hi (more traction when driving on loose terrain: mud, snow, gravel) and unlock your CDL in 4Lo (better turning radius).