Cb Tuning

Anyone have any good links to some good CB antenna tuning instructions. I have my new Uniden 510 XL and 4 ft firestik all installed and mounted. It just needs tuning now. i am going to try and stop by walmart/radioshack tomorrow and pick up a SWR meter as i understand it will help. Thanks.

Brandon

the swr meter should only be about 20 bones, and comes with instructions. can't remember EXACTLY what to do, all i remember is that you may need to cut a bit off your antenna.

Ok, i got my swr meter today and i have been playing with the CB system for about an hour now. Clipping in 1/4" intervals i have taken a total of about 2.5-3 inches of wire off the Firstik. I have gotten the SWR to read 1.4 on channel 1 and yet its at 2.8 on channel 40....Is this good or no? do i need to keep tweaking it?

Thanks.....im a noob with this stuff so i apologize.

Stone

Cruiserhead05 said:
Also, for what its worth. i havent yet grounded it which i guess i should go ahead and do.
FWIW I recently went through a big cafuffle tuning my Wilson antenna in my BJ74. The fiberglass roof was not good for the antenna signal, and I was getting similar readings to yours...great SWR in the lower channels, especially CH 4, but high on the higher channels.

I eventually did ground the antenna to the body, creating a better ground plane...and now my readings are great (between 1.1 to 1.3 on all channels). So if you are having a lot of trouble getting a good SWR, then go ahead and ground it.

set the SWR based on the channel you use most often. Unless you have no preference then use 19 or 20.

that should get the swr set the most evenly for all channels

OK it was all working good and have a good reading for channels 20 and below. i tried grounding it to see if i could clear up some static and figured it couldnt hurt....now my readings have all gone to crap and every channel has a super high reading...way over 3....

What to do.