CB Electrical Question

Onur

Retired LC Parts Professional
Moderator
GOLD Star
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Messages
26,067
Location
Woodstock, NY, USA
Hey All:

Mounting my Radio Shack CB here (TRC-503), and I have a question regarding the electrical connection.

I know the black wire is to be ground on the vehicle chassis. No worries there.

The red wire (has an in-line fuse holder) has to be mounted to a position on the rig's fuse block that has power only when the ignition is in the ACC or ON positions.

Where would that be on an FZJ80?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Best.
-onur
Akron, OH
 

Onur

Retired LC Parts Professional
Moderator
GOLD Star
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Messages
26,067
Location
Woodstock, NY, USA
MoJ said:
Radio, clock, etc.
How would I connect them to those points? Splice the red wire in?

Sorry for the dumbass questions, but I am a complete moron when electrical stuff comes up. I generally take it to someone to have it done, but I am trying to do all the upcoming electical stuff myself and it sucks!

Thanks Moj
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2002
Messages
1,484
Location
One of Four Presidential Flying Saucers
There are fancy ways to do it, but I usually take the lo-fi route when it's low power stuff like this. Strip the wire about 1/8th to 1/4th of an inch, pull out the blade type fuse and push the wire back in with one of the blades when re-inserting said fuse.

I've done it with a few things and have never had a problem. I'm sure there are purists who'd scream over that one, but oh well...
 

rusty_tlc

Dain Bramaged Member
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2005
Messages
13,570
Location
Reno, NV
Wherever you connect get a good pair of crimpers and decent crimp connectors. If you are planning on doing your own electrical it will be well worth the investment. DO NOT use the cheap crimper/stripper/boltcutters that come in the assortment kits. Klein makes the best type
klien.jpg
 

Cube Dweller

Moderator
 
 
Joined
May 22, 2004
Messages
1,172
Location
22 Acacia Avenue
Beno, I have the same CB in my runner. I ran the red(hot) lead to the battery directly. It was useful on the last trail run when some guys got stuck out on the trail and we were in camp. I had the ignition off but was still monitoring the radio traffic.

Plus as 4Hummer said, you should get less interference...
 

Onur

Retired LC Parts Professional
Moderator
GOLD Star
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Messages
26,067
Location
Woodstock, NY, USA
sactocruiser said:
Beno, I have the same CB in my runner. I ran the red(hot) lead to the battery directly. It was useful on the last trail run when some guys got stuck out on the trail and we were in camp. I had the ignition off but was still monitoring the radio traffic.

Plus as 4Hummer said, you should get less interference...
Cool that seems easy enough...straight to the battery=less interference. I can live with that indeed.

So, does the red (hot) wire go to the negative or the positive terminal? Don't want to blow anything up....

Thanks again all.
Best.
-onur
Akron, OH
 
Last edited:

honk

 
Joined
Nov 14, 2004
Messages
3,413
Location
PNW
beno said:
Cool that seems easy enough...straight to the battery=less interference. I can live with that indeed.

So, does the red (hot) wire go to the negative or the positive terminal? Don't want to blow anything up....

Thanks again all.
Best.
-onur
Akron, OH
The red one goes to the positive terminal. You already knew that the black is ground. Might think about a circuit breaker in the red line, but at least leave the fuse in the wire,
 

Onur

Retired LC Parts Professional
Moderator
GOLD Star
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Messages
26,067
Location
Woodstock, NY, USA
honk said:
The red one goes to the positive terminal. You already knew that the black is ground. Might think about a circuit breaker in the red line, but at least leave the fuse in the wire,
Thanks Honk.

I'll get on this tomorrow. It'll be nice to have some communications available to me.

Best.
-onur
Akron, OH
 

MoJ

Moderator
 
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2003
Messages
3,789
Onur -
Just to second Honk, if you wire the power (red) lead directly to the battery make sure you install an inline fuse of some sort as close to the battery as possible. Otherwise you have a potential fire hazard. An in-line fuse close to the battery is effective however a lot of folks will choose to add a secondary fuse block close to the battery and then add on accesories from that. There's a pretty good thread out there, maybe a ROTW that show a nice setup. Tried to find it for you but...
 

Onur

Retired LC Parts Professional
Moderator
GOLD Star
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Messages
26,067
Location
Woodstock, NY, USA
MoJ said:
Onur -
Just to second Honk, if you wire the power (red) lead directly to the battery make sure you install an inline fuse of some sort as close to the battery as possible. Otherwise you have a potential fire hazard. An in-line fuse close to the battery is effective however a lot of folks will choose to add a secondary fuse block close to the battery and then add on accesories from that. There's a pretty good thread out there, maybe a ROTW that show a nice setup. Tried to find it for you but...

Thanks Jason.

The CB already has an in line fuse on the red (hot) wire; should I add another one too?

Thanks again.
-onur
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
17
Location
Puyallup, WA
Just be sure not to hook the red wire up to the battery post/terminal untill you have the black wire grounded and the red wire is hooked to the CB. Or....you can pull out the fuse and seperate the two ends while you hook up the wire to the battery and then put the fuse back in and connect.

IE: once red wire is hooked to battery it is HOT all the time.
 

rusty_tlc

Dain Bramaged Member
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2005
Messages
13,570
Location
Reno, NV
Never power up your CB without an antenna connected. Didn't think to mention that before.
 

Onur

Retired LC Parts Professional
Moderator
GOLD Star
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Messages
26,067
Location
Woodstock, NY, USA
Barnyard said:
Just be sure not to hook the red wire up to the battery post/terminal untill you have the black wire grounded and the red wire is hooked to the CB. Or....you can pull out the fuse and seperate the two ends while you hook up the wire to the battery and then put the fuse back in and connect.

IE: once red wire is hooked to battery it is HOT all the time.
Copy that...thanks! :cheers:
 

Onur

Retired LC Parts Professional
Moderator
GOLD Star
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Messages
26,067
Location
Woodstock, NY, USA
rusty_tlc said:
Never power up your CB without an antenna connected. Didn't think to mention that before.
Yup..the antenna is connected to it right now, and it is basically sitting underneath my stereo in the dash waiting for the final hookup. Hopefully after work today.

Thanks again.
-onur
 

CruisinGA

 
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2003
Messages
6,186
Location
Georgia Tech
I used a 3M scotchlok splice connector and spliced it into the Cig lighter wire.

It is ign. only and very close to my CB.
 

PKP80

 
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
2,738
Location
Los Angeles, CA
DO NOT PICK THE RADIO, I am currently trying to find the time to UNDO my tapping into the radio power because when the cb is tapped into that line it means that the radio MUST be on when using your CB and you don't want that (especially if you have an after market radio).

Sam
 
Top Bottom