Carburetor flooding after I turn the engine off. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi, I'm fairly new to IH8MUD and this is my first posting. I have a 1971 FJ40 with a GM Rochester carb that was on it from PO. It was a carb setup from Man-A-Fre when they were located in Agoura, CA. It ran great for several years before it sat for another several years in my garage. I'm slowly replacing things as I get it back up and running. It's been back up and running great again for a bit but the last few times when I shut it off, I noticed that gas looks like it's coming from inside the top of the carb and running down the outside. I just now replaced the fuel pump and it still does the same thing. Running really rich and fouling the spark plugs. I couldn't start it back up after this happens. Not sure what to do other than replace the whole carb. ( I actually did buy a stock carb from a cruiser place and had it rebuilt. Put it on but ran rough and sounded like a vacuum leak somewhere so I swapped back to my original Rochester). Any help/guidance is greatly appreciated.

Not too familiar with the Rochester but sounds like fuel is pushing past the float needle either because the float isn’t floating anymore, junk keeping it open or the tang has bent and changed the setting. Likely due for a rebuild.
E39B668E-0454-433C-860D-731BF1300805.jpeg

I’d see what you can do about getting the stock carb working, but that’s just personal preference.