Carb Jets (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So I am rebuilding my Rochester Quadrajet and am wondering what jets to go with. I have no experience with these things and was wondering if there is a specific jet that works well. I am in Suisun,CA so my elevation is abut sea level but I do run up to Tahoe during the winter and summer months. On the dyno my untuned carb was running lean. Your thoughts? Carb #89058 2293W Thanks!

Upon more research it looks like there is a 1902 stamped on the carb as well. I think the first number is the serial number.

Dan,
You put your 55 on a chassis dyno, right? What was used to determine your carb was running lean? Were there sensors being used to monitor exhaust gas temperatures?

Unless there were some significant change in either engine configuration or altitude I would suggest sticking with original jets. If original equipment on the engine was that carb it would already have been calibrated for jet size. To find out if the engine is presently running lean or rich your best indicator is reading the spark plugs. Trips to higher altitudes will cause the engine to run a little rich (and therefore a small loss in power), however will not damage an engine the way a lean setup can.

1902 is an Edelbrock number.

From the Edelbrock website:
"Q-Jet Series Carburetor - 4MV - 1974-78
For 1974-78 350-454 Chevy/GMC trucks and cars with a divorced style choke. Compatible with EGR. Main Jet: .069; Metering Rods: Primary-36B, Secondary-DR.
750 cfm with divorced choke #1902"

These specs are probably good for you since I think sea level is the level by which all levels are leveled.. :)

Remember that jetting a carb means matching not just the mains, but the metering rods and springs too.