Can someone explain to me why people get aftermarket suspension and lift when a well functioning AHC system can raise the car by 3 (?) inches? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Most lifts I see on here and facebook are like 2-3 inches on 100 series land cruisers, and if AHC can provide that along with giving a very comfortable ride, what is the rationale to switch over to aftermarket suspension? I'm a total noob here, so just wanted to get your guys' perspective. is it just more "rugged"?

Here's one opinion...

Option 1 - AHC is busted due to rusty parts. So, why spend more money on trying to fix it? (This was my situation)
Option 2 - As much as AHC is an awesome system, it does have some limitations if people are looking to hit moderate to more difficult trails
Option 3 - Owner has $$ to spend on mall crawlers ;)

Option 3.5 - LC doesn't have AHC :)

Last edited:
Reasons include but not limited to….

Honest ignorance of the AHC system, the gripping fear of said ignorance and same fear of the honest ignorance of when AHC may go out and leave said honestly ignorant LXer In low in a place not wanting low.

Here's one opinion...

Option 1 - AHC is busted due to rusty parts. So, why spend more money on trying to fix it? (This was my situation)
Option 2 - As much as AHC is an awesome system, it does have some limitations if people are looking to hit moderate to more difficult trails

What are the limitations of AHC compared to a dedicated aftermarket suspension? I have been off road on blue/green trails several times with AHC, and I still found it very comfortable while providing enough of a lift. 3 inches is quite a bit, and AHC can deliver that.