Can a NON Mechanic own an FJ? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Ok what does every one think, I would like to get a diesel. I am certainly handy with things but I'm far from a mechanic. This has been on my mind since mid winter when I started looking. One thing is for sure im willing to try things myself. What ya's think

As long as you don't let it intimidate you, and are willing to get grease under your fingernails, no problem. They are actually fairly easy to work on, and this place is an awesome resource.

I've had mine for close to 20 years, and I still learn things here.

Go for it.:D

I had ZERO mechanical experience before my 40. I am still very weak mechanically. However, after sending my 40 to a 'landcruiser mechanic' for some work, I felt like I had my bWalls cut off. I can't speak about BJs (the diesels, you dirty minds), but these aren't too complicated. It is a matter of just diving in.

That being said, I still have A LOT to learn. Go for it anyway!

just go for it, make sure it is not your daily driver and that you can take your time and walk away from it when you need to. The info is out there, especially with the internet nowadays. I have no mechanical trade experience or credentials and my dad was never a car guy. I started learning in high school shop and am now 33 and consider myself somewhat knowledgable but not an expert at all. There is so much to learn, nobody can know it all.

Go for it dude, it's fun. :)

the key word is fun, if it stops being fun then don't do it anymore.

Noah

I started buying FJ's because I got tired of fixing my cj5.
Even when they run poorly, they do so for a very long time.

I also got into FJ's with ZERO mechanicle knowledge....If you were to have asked me the difference between SAE and Metric....I would have looked at you blankly and asked what subject we were talking about!...