Can a Hella Switch be used with my Slee Aux harness?

chiz45

 
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2003
Messages
179
Previous owner had installed a pair of Hellas, complete with a green LED light switch. I recently purchased Slee replacement and Aux light harnesses, but neglected to get the switch. Any reason why i couldn't use this existing switch?
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2003
Messages
3,429
Location
Rockville, MD
Nope, it should work. I believe as long as it's a 2-spade switch it should work. I swapped mine out for another switch I had since I didn't like the rotary switch that came w/ my harness.

Ary
 

chiz45

 
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2003
Messages
179
I read through the FSM, and it looks like it requires removal of the steering wheel to get that DS upper left panel off? I originally asked about the switch, as it's already wired, grounded and available in the engine bay, and I didn't want to go through all of the steps to open up the dash.
 

NorCalDoug

problems solved daily...
 
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2003
Messages
6,285
Location
uhhhh...duh...Northern CA
chiz45 said:
I read through the FSM, and it looks like it requires removal of the steering wheel to get that DS upper left panel off? I originally asked about the switch, as it's already wired, grounded and available in the engine bay, and I didn't want to go through all of the steps to open up the dash.
If you mean the upper panel where the switches go, then no, you don't need to remove the steering wheel.

Remove the bottom panel first -- you should find 2 or 3 screws holding it on, then remove the upper on -- no screws IIRC, just clips. Definitely a 1 :banana: job.
 

chiz45

 
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2003
Messages
179
NorCalDoug said:
If you mean the upper panel where the switches go, then no, you don't need to remove the steering wheel.

Remove the bottom panel first -- you should find 2 or 3 screws holding it on, then remove the upper on -- no screws IIRC, just clips. Definitely a 1 :banana: job.
what if i am only a .5 :banana: ? I'll give it a try this weekend.
 

MoJ

Moderator
 
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2003
Messages
3,759
chiz45 said:
what if i am only a .5 :banana: ? I'll give it a try this weekend.
Not difficult - just take your time and be careful as it's easy to crack something.
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2005
Messages
253
Location
Austin, TX
I was going to say that buttons can be switched easily, just cut and splice. Course I was cheap and used a pep boy wire harness where me and a friend could cut and splice the whole thing to fit the truck the best way.
 
Top Bottom