Can a Hella Switch be used with my Slee Aux harness?

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by chiz45, Oct 24, 2005.

  1. chiz45

    chiz45

    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Previous owner had installed a pair of Hellas, complete with a green LED light switch. I recently purchased Slee replacement and Aux light harnesses, but neglected to get the switch. Any reason why i couldn't use this existing switch?
     
  2. Arya Ebrahimi

    Arya Ebrahimi

    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    107
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Location:
    Rockville, MD
    Nope, it should work. I believe as long as it's a 2-spade switch it should work. I swapped mine out for another switch I had since I didn't like the rotary switch that came w/ my harness.

    Ary
     
  3. PKP80

    PKP80

    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    119
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I'm planning on going the route myself, real soon
     
  4. chiz45

    chiz45

    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    I read through the FSM, and it looks like it requires removal of the steering wheel to get that DS upper left panel off? I originally asked about the switch, as it's already wired, grounded and available in the engine bay, and I didn't want to go through all of the steps to open up the dash.
     
  5. NorCalDoug

    NorCalDoug problems solved daily...

    Messages:
    6,293
    Likes Received:
    118
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Location:
    uhhhh...duh...Northern CA
    If you mean the upper panel where the switches go, then no, you don't need to remove the steering wheel.

    Remove the bottom panel first -- you should find 2 or 3 screws holding it on, then remove the upper on -- no screws IIRC, just clips. Definitely a 1 :banana: job.
     
  6. chiz45

    chiz45

    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    what if i am only a .5 :banana: ? I'll give it a try this weekend.
     
  7. NorCalDoug

    NorCalDoug problems solved daily...

    Messages:
    6,293
    Likes Received:
    118
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Location:
    uhhhh...duh...Northern CA
    give it a shot grasshopper :D

    I should note -- you may need to unclip some of the switches to get the panels completely loose.
     
  8. MoJ

    MoJ Moderator

    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    634
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Not difficult - just take your time and be careful as it's easy to crack something.
     
  9. Biff

    Biff

    Messages:
    1,904
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I used my Hella switch with my Slee Aux. harness with no problems.
     
  10. nyk438

    nyk438

    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I was going to say that buttons can be switched easily, just cut and splice. Course I was cheap and used a pep boy wire harness where me and a friend could cut and splice the whole thing to fit the truck the best way.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.