Buying advice: LC vs LX from the vantage of the salted North and AHC (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi all,

I've been tossing around ideas for a dedicated DD for a few months now (100 will be my build truck). Until only recently I had all but decided I was going to get a Tundra (had one before and loved it) but after moving to Michigan about a year ago I've decided I really want to keep the entire fleet full-time 4WD. I had actually posted a WANTED ad in the 200 classifieds but now I am torn between LX vs LC.

We drive ALOT of miles on road trips. So I am looking for quiet and comfort. I know the LX has more sound deadening so I guess my first question is the cabin noise much more in an LC? I know about the upholstery and all that jazz, but truly wondering if there is a measurable difference in driving experience?

My next and most important question is this - Should I be worried about AHC up North? Looking for someone with experience in this area. I have read threads about rusting lines but I feel like I take really good care of my vehicles. I currently have an '06 LC that came with AHC when I got it, it worked beautifully but was wrong I felt for the application of me adding a bunch of weight to the truck with a build. Having said that I'm attracted to the AHC for a vehicle that won't be modified.

I had my 100 fluid-filmed last year and although I know it did it's job for preventing alot of salt exposure it definitely does not make the truck immune to the salt.

@bjowett put an AWD transfer case into a tundra.. might be a good option given your needs.

If you buy the right LX, and you can maintain the undercarriage yourself knowing the weak spots you should be all set. Get some good mudflaps and get under it a few times a year, your good.

From my very limited experience of test driving both, LX is the better daily driver but you cannot go wrong with either.